When does "after attack is resolved" occur?

By crstephan, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

Hi,

We have a debate going on for cards that say to play "after attack is resolved". One person says it's in stage 4 of the "Steps of an Attack" on pg 5 of the rules reference. I say it's when the attack is completed and the defender has taken their damage. What say you?

Thanks!

Edited by crstephan

After Step 7. Calculate Damage. (basically, after target suffers damage)

But this sounds like a loaded question about timing. What's the *real* question?

Edited by Fizz

I would believe youd have to go through all 7 steps of an attack before the attack is resolved. Whats his reasoning for it being completed in step 4 when you still have to spend surges, check accuracy, and then calculate damage.

I would believe youd have to go through all 7 steps of an attack before the attack is resolved. Whats his reasoning for it being completed in step 4 when you still have to spend surges, check accuracy, and then calculate damage.

My thoughts exactly, sounds loaded to me. :)

Not loaded, just player arguing it should be done in step 4 so he could throw extra defenses at it. Card in question was "Surgical Strike".

What extra defenses is he trying to throw at it? Whats your exact situation because Im just not understanding his argument. Either way Surgical Strike is used after step 7.

Keep in mind defense rolls and static defense don't help against a special ability like surgical strike, they help against the dice roll/attack.

Can't use defense results vs surgical strike. Its one of the direct damage, not an attack cards. Its timing trigger is just after an attack.

Does the attack needs to hit to be allowed to use Surgical Strike?

Does the attack needs to hit to be allowed to use Surgical Strike?

No it does not. Just exhaust after an imperial figure resolves an attack.