Tekken Forces and merciless fighter

By darklogos, in UFS Rules Q & A

If the foundations Tekken FOrces create are destroyed due to card effects are they still removed from the game?

With Merciless Fighter can you discard from your hand or does it have to be in the staging area?

If your opponent plays a card that can be canceled by destroying a foundation and you destroy a card that has an effect when it is destroyed by your opponents card effect does that effect go off?

On the whole optional canceling dowhatists, no idea. There needs to be more of a clear cut 'this is a cost' ruling that can answer all of these questions.

On the Tekken Forces bit: the card says "for the rest of this turn, these face down cards are considered blank foundations." So, to me, that says wherever they are, the effect searches them out and RFGs them, as they are still 'blank foundations.'

The real question to ask is this: Tekken Forces + Victor***. What happens if Victor wants to play the 'blank foundation' he picked up? Is it still a blank foundation? Is it what it really is, but still gets RFGed? Can you even play it, as it would, as a 'blank foundation', have no symbols?

Merciless Fighter has to be from the hand, as it does not have the required 'Discard a character from your staging area' clause. Just 'Discard a character.'

-Tinman

Tinman said:

The real question to ask is this: Tekken Forces + Victor***. What happens if Victor wants to play the 'blank foundation' he picked up? Is it still a blank foundation? Is it what it really is, but still gets RFGed? Can you even play it, as it would, as a 'blank foundation', have no symbols?

When the card changes zones to an unknown state it loses all prior memory hanging over it. So if you ***Victor*** it back to your hand, you do not reveal the facedown aspect of the card to your opponent and put it back into your hand. Where it can stay for as long as you see fit.

Morning Demon said:

Tinman said:

The real question to ask is this: Tekken Forces + Victor***. What happens if Victor wants to play the 'blank foundation' he picked up? Is it still a blank foundation? Is it what it really is, but still gets RFGed? Can you even play it, as it would, as a 'blank foundation', have no symbols?

When the card changes zones to an unknown state it loses all prior memory hanging over it. So if you ***Victor*** it back to your hand, you do not reveal the facedown aspect of the card to your opponent and put it back into your hand. Where it can stay for as long as you see fit.

Where is this in the rules? I just cannot find any information confirming that this is the case whenever a card is picked up/discarded. Ever since Primitive Instinct, I had thought that once a card was slated for RFG, that happened no matter where it was/ended up.

-Tinman

Optional cancel - no, it won't. It's just like Stand Off. It's giving you the choice of doing whatever to pay a cost to cancel.

Well, it's like the Alex facedown support + Ready for Anything, Starter Sakura, etc. Once a card changes zones, it is no longer the same card for the purposes of any card referencing it. So if Tekken Forces sticks two attacks in the staging area as blanks, and then you destroy them, they're not foundations in the discard pile - how can the game remove two cards that no longer exist?

Also, if you discard the card from the card pool with Primitive Instinct, it doesn't get removed from play, because it's only when you clear cards during the End Phase. It's no longer "that block" (just like Chop is no longer an attack once it finishes resolving).