Fury of the North

By hairryharry, in UFS Rules Q & A

To prevent getting a humilating defeat (again) against another newbie using Fury of the North. I wondered if someone would clarify how this works.

1)Comit all cards in staging area - ok.

2)When calculating the +1's for the commited cards do you count ALL commited cards in the staging area that are applicable -foundations and assets or ONLY the ones NOT previously commited.

For example opponent had attacked and commited 2 cards to get control check, then when playing enhancements played Fury of the North and ended up with five other foundations commited from the card action. Does he get +7 damage(just adding up all commited foundations in the staging area) or +5 (just from foundations commited from the action of Fury of the North.)

Many thanks as this seems to be my opponents main line of attack with his Ragnar deck!

HH

It only counts the cards committed due to the effect of the card for the damage/speed calculation

Thanks - that was my take on it.

HH

Speaking of Fury of the North, can you even play the ability without a fully ready staging area? If the cost is to "commit all cards in your staging area," then wouldn't you be unable to pay the cost if something is already committed? It doesn't say "commit all ready cards in your staging area," it says "commit all cards." It would seem that if there's anything you can't commit, (because it's committed already) then you are not able to pay the cost and hence can't play the ability.

It probably has that whole built in clause about only dealing with ready foundations, kinda like Darkness Blade, and how, by the wording, it would only commit the highest difficulty thing, then stop. This is "E Commit all (ready) cards in your staging area", like how Darkness Blade is "commit the highest difficulty (ready) card".

-Tinman

with fury of the north yes it states commit all cards in your staging area but u still commit fury of the north for the ability so its gonna get least +1