The Entertainer

By Ender Dragon, in UFS Rules Q & A

Can this card be activated more than once in a turn?

If I have 4 copies of this card out I should be able to activate this card all 4 times. It says "Before you draw cards..." so all of the activations take place befroe I draw anything, then I draw 0 right? Wanted to ask this before the pre-release on Saturday.

in short yes you can, they would all trigger at the same time and you could in turn respond with each one

I hate to bump this, but it was never answered by anyone official but... Is there any ruling on this?

You're about to draw cards.

-> Response trigger for before you draw cards

-> -> Respond with The Entertainer #1

-> -> Resolve The Entertainer, you won't draw cards, +2 damage.

-> -> Opponent passes on response

-> -> Respond with The Entertainer #2

I do not believe the response trigger fizzles since it started a.... ugh I hate using terms from other card games, but... chain.

UFS has no chain. The old rules say you wouldn't be able to respond with the next one because you've replaced the card draw effect with the first Entertainer that resolved.

R : Before your Draw Step begins, draw no cards during your Draw Step. Your Attacks get +2 damage for the rest of the turn.

It's always good to read the card before suggesting a ruling (I've run afoul of that before myself).

The trigger is "before your draw step", but the effect doesn't remove the draw step, just changes what you do during it. It is stackable.

Just wanted to make sure cuz I honestly can't remember who was official and who wasn't anymore. Aslum's word is official on this? So it does stack?

aslum said:

R : Before your Draw Step begins, draw no cards during your Draw Step. Your Attacks get +2 damage for the rest of the turn.

It's always good to read the card before suggesting a ruling (I've run afoul of that before myself).

The trigger is "before your draw step", but the effect doesn't remove the draw step, just changes what you do during it. It is stackable.

I have to disagree. This goes against an old ruling with Methodical Fighter and Ryu***

Methodical Fighter stated that cards remain in their respective card pools, and therefore you were not clearing. Since you were not clearing cards you could not activate Ryu's "R Commit: Before you clear..."

So to follow along that ruling, after you activate 1 Entertainer, you are no longer drawing so you cannot activate an ability that says "Before you draw"

Ender Dragon said:

aslum said:

R : Before your Draw Step begins, draw no cards during your Draw Step. Your Attacks get +2 damage for the rest of the turn.

It's always good to read the card before suggesting a ruling (I've run afoul of that before myself).

The trigger is "before your draw step", but the effect doesn't remove the draw step, just changes what you do during it. It is stackable.

I have to disagree. This goes against an old ruling with Methodical Fighter and Ryu***

Methodical Fighter stated that cards remain in their respective card pools, and therefore you were not clearing. Since you were not clearing cards you could not activate Ryu's "R Commit: Before you clear..."

So to follow along that ruling, after you activate 1 Entertainer, you are no longer drawing so you cannot activate an ability that says "Before you draw"

Exactly right.

But the Entertainer says "R: Before your draw step begins"

Independent of wether or not you are drawing cards, your draw step still "begins".

Here is the offical definition of Draw Step:

7.3 The Draw Step

The player compares the number of cards in their hand to their character’s hand size. If the player
currently has less cards in their hand than their character’s hand size, they will then draw a number of
cards equal to the difference between the amount of cards in their hand and their character’s hand size.
These cards are drawn all at once.
7.3.1 This phase is not optional. If a player has fewer cards than their hand size, they MUST
draw.
7.3.2 If the player has a number of cards equal to or greater than their printed hand size, they
will not draw any cards.

Obviously, The Entertainer uses the Golden Rule(aka Cards do what they say) to stop 7.3.1's drawing, but the event still happens. The player would be able to perform the Ready Step, then the Review step, then R with as many Entertainers as they wish. The effects will stack.

The only way that this could be any different was if "Draw no cards during the Draw Step" was a cost, at which point I do not believe you could R with more than 1.

-Tinman

Ok cool then, until someone official comes in and says otherwise, you can use more than one.