Misdirection spell

By Blitzkrieg4, in Talisman Rules Questions

We need some guidance regarding the misdirection spell. Here is the scenario:

Player #1 lands on the Tavern and rolls a six so on player #1's next turn, she can either choose to take a boat over to the Temple or roll the dice.

At the start of player #1's next turn, player #4 casts the misdirection spell. The misdirection spell states that the other player next has a turn, the roll for movement normal but then the spell caster gets to direct the movement.

Issue: How does the misdirection spell apply in this scenario?

Debated options:

1. Player #1 loses their ability to "chose" between going to the Temple or rolling the dice and is forced via the misdirection spell to roll the dice and the spell caster chooses the direction.

2. The misdirection spell can not be cast because Player #1's next movement is not "normal" as they had the choice of rolling or going to the Temple.

3. The intent of the misdirection spell is to be able to direct the character upon which the spell was cast. Therefore, the character casting the spell gets to decide if Player #1 will go to the Temple or roll the dice, thereby "directing" their movement. But once the dice is rolled, Player #1 gets to pick the direction.

4. Same as 3. above, except the spell caster also gets to direct movement if the spell caster chooses to make Player #1 roll the dice.

5. Other?

Mmm, let's see...

i think that the other player who cast the Misdirection spell, can not choose to let a player go to the temple ( if he has rolled for the boatman)

So the opponent can only decide wich way he must walk on the outer region.

Each spell must work as written on the card. ( In this occassion, it cannot work to go to the temple..because you don't roll the die then .

------

This is the logical answer for me..

I agree with Vel, above. The misdirection spell would no be cast if the player decided to go to the temple as no roll occured (same for any other movement that does not require a roll). else if the player rolled instead of going to the temple, then the misdirection could be cast.