condition immunity and suppressive fire

By derroehre, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

If a model cannot gain conditions and is affected by suppressive fire by fenn signis, must it choose to suffer one damage or can it choose to get stunned (and ignore said condition)?

It can choose to get stunned and ignore condition. (Golden Rule under pg 2 RRG)

Card abilities can override the rules listed in this guide. Mission

rules can override both card abilities and rules from this guide.

If a card or mission uses the word cannot , that effect is absolute

and cannot be overridden by other effects.

It more because RRG 12 says "A figure cannot be affected by multiple instances of the same

condition. For example, if a figure that is already Stunned
would become Stunned again for any reason, nothing happens."
IE you *can* be hit with stun a million times, you just don't do anything past the first one. No rule saying that you can't use the effect. Specifically this is what happens *when* you get stunned again, not a prohibition against using the stun effect. Kinda like spending surges on cleave or something when you opponent rolls the white miss result. Nothing happens, but you can still spend those surges on it if you really want.

It more because RRG 12 says "A figure cannot be affected by multiple instances of the same

condition. For example, if a figure that is already Stunned
would become Stunned again for any reason, nothing happens."
IE you *can* be hit with stun a million times, you just don't do anything past the first one. No rule saying that you can't use the effect. Specifically this is what happens *when* you get stunned again, not a prohibition against using the stun effect. Kinda like spending surges on cleave or something when you opponent rolls the white miss result. Nothing happens, but you can still spend those surges on it if you really want.

Actually, "theruleslawyer", derroehre is describing a scenario in the campaign where the mission rules state that a certain figure cannot receive conditions - not what happens with multiple instances of the same condition, which is what you were trying to answer.

With that known, The Golden Rule applies because it states that mission rules override both card effects and rules form the guide - as well as using the word "cannot" - such as the rule in the campaign from derroehre's scenario.

Doh, right. I miss-read the question. Specifically what is causing them not to be able to acquire conditions? I just assumed not gaining it meant he had that condition already (which would be the most common way of not putting out another token.) If you literally can't gain the condition from a special rule you need to check the overide heirarchy darkjodo mentioned for sure.

The mission rules for "Last Stand"

During "End of the Line" event, bullet point 3: "Darth Vader cannot receive conditions."

Edited by DarkJodo

Does this

On 4/10/2015 at 6:42 AM, DarkJodo said:

It can choose to get stunned and ignore condition. (Golden Rule under pg 2 RRG)

Card abilities can override the rules listed in this guide. Mission

rules can override both card abilities and rules from this guide.

If a card or mission uses the word cannot , that effect is absolute

and cannot be overridden by other effects.

Does this apply to skirmish with Dirty trick and Onar?

Dirty Trick is a card ability, and Onar's Immune is a card ability, so Immune's cannot gain harmful conditions overrides becomes stunned .

Because there are no prerequisites in choosing either effect, Onar can choose to become stunned, but then doesn't receive the stunned condition.

So, just do not try any Dirty Tricks with Onar.