Cursed Blood

By runnerb3an, in UFS Rules Q & A

I am sure this ruling has been done before but after looking through 15 pages of search and not finding the topic I figured just posting here would help me more.

If a Split Card is revealed using Cursed blood's effect, does one get to decide the type or is it automatically the top portion of the card?

Looking at the rules it says a split card can be either side when targeting it so I would suppose I could choose but I wanted to make sure.

2.6.0.4 While a split card is in a player’s hand, deck, discard pile, or removed from game area (See Zones of Play) it may be targeted by a card or effect that targets either side of the card.

Answer from the Advanced Rules, pg 13

-Tinman

Figured as much, thanks for confirming :)

i thought it was both just as if you discard a split with kabuki, the player cant draw both the sides of split

i thought the same to then i was told one side of the split card is designated for the effect of kabuki

It does count as both, how the sentence in the rules should perhaps be worded is "It is a valid target for cards and effects that target either side of the card" since "May" implies it is optional, when it has been ruled several times previously that it always counts as both sides when out of play.

OK well if it counts as both sides, what do you do if you reveal a foundation action split?

You put it into play as a foundation. This is because Cursed Blood ask if the card is a foundation or if it is not a foundation. Because a split card is both, it is not Not a Foundation, so you put it in your staging area committed.

-Tinman

Right kay then thanks