Stand off vs. Earth Commit Foundations

By ShippuJinrai, in UFS Rules Q & A

Just a quick question about some stand-off rulings.

My opponent goes to activate his stand off to reduce my attack's damage. I then use my opponent's stand off to commit two and negate it. I commit a torn hero to the stand off. Am i able to commit two of my opponents cards due to it being his effect? I know this ruling worked similar to being able to search out multiple copies of foundation if i blow up my foundations to my opponent's whereabouts unknown while i have blinding rage in play. If thats the case, Siegfrieds support in mini block becomes a great answer to stand off.

The committal for stand off, as well as some the the spoiled paul stuff, is considered to be a cost. The reasoning is it has to be a cost because if it was part of the effect it would be canceled along with the effect and create a logic loop or something like that. In either event, costs dont trigger Torn Hero, just effects, so no you do not get to commit stuff with Torn Hero.

thanks for the quick response.