The Dunwich Horror in a Vortex?

By Fecktor, in Arkham Horror Second Edition

Hello!

Just a quick hypothetical question for you all: Let's say I use both the Dunwich Horror and the Black Goat of the Woods expansions. Enough monsters enters vortices so the Dunwich Horror awakes. The Dark Druid is also on the board. The Dark Druid then moves, so the Dunwich Horror moves to the Village Commons. Then the Dark Druid moves again.

If the Dunwich Horror moves inside the vortex, is it removed from the board? Or since it's a Spawn monster, is it immune to the vortex's effect that states that "Any monster that enters a vortex is immediately returned to the cup."? So then it'll just stay there until the rest of the game, adding Doom tokens once in a while without any way to battle it?

Thanks!

I am going to say the DH is immune to the effects of the Dark Druid and not move at all. Spawn monsters are usually above the common monsters on the board.

Plus, I am also going to go with the interpretation that the Dark Druid just gives monsters another move phase that follows their border color.

If that happens the AO awakens immediately.

MrsGamura said:

If that happens the AO awakens immediately.

Can you explain why?

Well if the DW Horror moves he can add doom tokens to the doom track...and well if it moves into a vortex that's just all types of evil! and AO like evil so they show up!

but really the Dark Druid just gives monsters a path to move on if they move i.e. the black so he not going to ignore monsters normal movement types, ie fast, stalker, flying, green 'special' movement, etc

Thanks guys!

Well, I can't say I'm not surprised by your answers, though... :) It's not how I would have interpreted this rule related to Spawn monsters, green-bordered monsters or hypothetically putting the Dunwich Horror in a vortex, but it's food for thought!

How could the DH move from Sentinel Hill? There are no arrows.

I would go with ColtsFan and say that the DH does not move; rather it gets another opportunity to exercise it's Green bordered ability ...

Gamemaster said:

How could the DH move from Sentinel Hill? There are no arrows.

Mi-Go Brain Case partido_risa.gif .

Without the druid in front of me, I'd also say that it just gets another roll for its doom abillity.

That being said, if anything else would cause the dunwich horror to be placed in a vortex, remove it and add 1 to the terror level. Given the wording of the Dunwich Horror track ("whenever it is filled", iirc) the Dunwich Horror is then immediatley placed back on sentinel hill.

So there you have a rules answer without having to shimmy around house rules.

Victimizer said:

That being said, if anything else would cause the dunwich horror to be placed in a vortex, remove it and add 1 to the terror level. Given the wording of the Dunwich Horror track ("whenever it is filled", iirc) the Dunwich Horror is then immediatley placed back on sentinel hill.

That's one of those cases where we don't know whether the wording refers to the instance (3rd token being placed) or the state (3 tokens on the track). Doesn't come into play that often though, I'll grant you, usually it's DH appears, DH dies (or is left there as the game is about to end), track is emptied.

Yes. Since we don't know which one is meant, we can't assume either exclusively. Since both (or actually, the state of three tokens being present would suffice) work (i.e. the game doesn't grind to a standstill of unfunctionality), there's no reason to assume that one or the other is incorrect - thus it is best to follow the rules completely, i.e. using both possible meanings.

As a bonus, it resolves this particular situation.

Gamemaster said:

How could the DH move from Sentinel Hill? There are no arrows.

Re-check your DH map maybe? Mine definately has Black/White leading down to Village Commons.