Curse of the Ancient Mariner Auto Powerful 6

By Tinman, in UFS Rules Q & A

080.jpg

090.jpg

Looking at the 2 cards above, and the Combo enhance on Curse. Play order is as follows:

Wild Storm, Wild Storm E, Wild Storm, Wild Storm E, Curse of the Ancient Mariner, Driven by Ambition E, Check a 4, Curse Combo E.

Would the powerful on the above string of cards be Powerful 2 or Powerful 6?

The Combo E says that it gets Powerful equal to the amount the control check was modified by card effects. Does the Effect of Driven by Ambition count as a modification to the check for the Combo, because it is no longer a normal check. By using Driven by Ambition, I have modified how the check was made, by a card effect.

The closest I could get to the definition of modifiying a control check was this:

2.11.1 Control checks may be modified by other cards or effects. (pg 19, Adv. Rules)

Other than that, it does not state whether 'modifying' a control check references the amount of the control check, or the source.

-Tinman

To modify a control check, there has to be a baseline for reference. I'm guessing it's assumed the baseline is the actual control check, not 0. If I understand things right, then in your scenario you would check a 6, it would be modified to an 8 and you'd get +2 on your powerful.

You would get a Powerful rating of 4. This is because it's checking the amount that the check for the combo E was modified. All you have to do is pass the 6, but if, say, you check a native 4 and give the check a +2 boost to pass that 6, then the check has been modified by two.

In short - you're going to want lots of floating check bonii in order to crank the Powerful rating through the roof. Highest I got today was 10.

Ed: whoops, misread. Thought it said you'd played four Wild Storm enhances. Doh. Yeah, it's Powerful:2.

@aslum: When a card says, "your next check is X, no check necessary" there is no control check made, so "All CCs get +1"-type effects don't go off. Otherwise, I agree.

Waffle - incorrect. A control check is still made, there simply is no card flip to it, as the value has already been set.

In short, any ability that gives + or - to a control check is a modification. Anything that allows you to make a check instead of making a check, i.e. driven by ambition, is not a check modifcation.

MegaGeese said:

Waffle - incorrect. A control check is still made, there simply is no card flip to it, as the value has already been set.

But does the set value also get modified by +2?

I thought the phrasing of "Your next control check this turn is EQUAL to that control check" means the check is set, and cannot get modified. If it's equal to 6, how could it get +2? Then it wouldn't equal 6 anymore, right?

It was my understanding that Driven by Ambition (when used on that particular check) would create a Powerful value of 0.

Checking a character makes your check EQUAL to 6, doesn't mean it can't be modified.

Well ****.

It would've been nice to know this back when I was playing Ancient Arts of Combat as a spam foundation in a deck with Float Like a Butterfly and Buffalo Headbutt...

So uhm..Kyo with Curse of the Ancient Mariner = Fun Times?

05.jpg