Looking at the 2 cards above, and the Combo enhance on Curse. Play order is as follows:
Wild Storm, Wild Storm E, Wild Storm, Wild Storm E, Curse of the Ancient Mariner, Driven by Ambition E, Check a 4, Curse Combo E.
Would the powerful on the above string of cards be Powerful 2 or Powerful 6?
The Combo E says that it gets Powerful equal to the amount the control check was modified by card effects. Does the Effect of Driven by Ambition count as a modification to the check for the Combo, because it is no longer a normal check. By using Driven by Ambition, I have modified how the check was made, by a card effect.
The closest I could get to the definition of modifiying a control check was this:
2.11.1 Control checks may be modified by other cards or effects. (pg 19, Adv. Rules)
Other than that, it does not state whether 'modifying' a control check references the amount of the control check, or the source.
-Tinman