As the Imperial player, can I use an attachment on an Initial Group at the start of the mission? Or must I wait until said group is defeated/redeployed before attaching it?
Attachment + Initial Groups
Yes anytime you deploy a group, including the initial deployment, you may play an attachment on that group. All figures in the group get the benefit of the attachment. Attachment Pg 5 RRG
Cheers..
Hi,
I am unclear on the rule for attachment cards when it comes to "returned to play area" when the carrier group/model is defeated.
Can you attach the card to another group/model deployed as re-inforcement for example?
Thanks in advance
Can you attach the card to another group/model deployed as re-inforcement for example?
You can only attach attachments to deployment cards (and usually all figure benefit from it). You can only attach them when you deploy deployment cards. So if you just reinforce 1 Stormtrooper for 2 threat, you can't attach an attachment on his corresponding deployment card.
I don't have the RRG in front of me but doesn't it say you attach cards when deploying figures? I interpreted this as reinforcing also.
The only time you can "re-attach" an available attachment (meaning an attachment not currently in play) is when deploying a deployment card from your hand. This may be during the initial deployment, reserve deployment, or during an optional deployment.
Nowhere in the rules does it say that this can be done with a reinforcement of an existing group, and the rules for reinforcement do not mention the word "deploy" in them. Whereas the rules for Deployment make heavy usage of the word "deploy".
Reinforcing is not Deploying.
I'll list some important rules here, but I am not going to include the entirety of "Deployment" and "Reinforcement", go read them and you will see the lack of the word "deploy" in under the rules for "Reinforcement".
"Attachment", RRG, Page 5:
• When the Imperial player deploys figures to the map, he may take one or more “Attachment” cards and place them on the figures’ corresponding Deployment card. The abilities on the cards apply to all figures in the group.
• When the last figure in a group is defeated, return any cards attached to the Deployment card to the Imperial player’s play area. He may attach these cards when deploying figures in the future, following the rules above.
"Deployment", RRG, Page 11:
When an initial or reserved group is defeated, except for unique figures, the Deployment card is returned to the Imperial player’s hand and can be optionally deployed during the Status Phase.
Thanks for the clarification.
My apologies as my question was not precise enough. I didn't mean to say attach to a re-inforcement, but on deploying a new group (in status phase mainly).
And it seems it's possible.
This is actually the line I found unclear:
• When the last figure in a group is defeated, return any cards attached to the Deployment card to the Imperial player’s play area. He may attach these cards when deploying figures in the future , following the rules above.
Because it says "in the future". I didn't know if it meant future scenarios or in the same active scenario when Deploying new cards.
Now I know it's in the same scenario when deploying new groups.
Thanks Fizz.
The only time you can "re-attach" an available attachment (meaning an attachment not currently in play) is when deploying a deployment card from your hand. This may be during the initial deployment, reserve deployment, or during an optional deployment.
Nowhere in the rules does it say that this can be done with a reinforcement of an existing group, and the rules for reinforcement do not mention the word "deploy" in them. Whereas the rules for Deployment make heavy usage of the word "deploy".
Reinforcing is not Deploying.
I'll list some important rules here, but I am not going to include the entirety of "Deployment" and "Reinforcement", go read them and you will see the lack of the word "deploy" in under the rules for "Reinforcement".
"Attachment", RRG, Page 5:
• When the Imperial player deploys figures to the map, he may take one or more “Attachment” cards and place them on the figures’ corresponding Deployment card. The abilities on the cards apply to all figures in the group.
• When the last figure in a group is defeated, return any cards attached to the Deployment card to the Imperial player’s play area. He may attach these cards when deploying figures in the future, following the rules above.
"Deployment", RRG, Page 11:
When an initial or reserved group is defeated, except for unique figures, the Deployment card is returned to the Imperial player’s hand and can be optionally deployed during the Status Phase.
However, we can read: All figures in the group get the benefit of the attachment . Attachment Pg 5 RRG
I don't have the RRG in front of me but doesn't it say you attach cards when deploying figures? I interpreted this as reinforcing also.
No: Attach an attachment to a deployment card where you just reinforce 1 or 2 figures
Yes: A reinforced figure benefits from an attachment on it's corresponding deployment card.
Reinforcing is not deployment afair.
Just to be clear. The scenario I have in mind is:
Start of scenario, Initial deployment of stormtrooper (group of 3) - Adding attachment to the deployment card.
They all die - The deployment card and attachment are removed from play.
Using Threat points, a different deployment card (or the same) is brought in - The attachment card is deployed along.
That last part is what I wasn't sure you can do.
Just to be clear. The scenario I have in mind is:
Start of scenario, Initial deployment of stormtrooper (group of 3) - Adding attachment to the deployment card.
They all die - The deployment card and attachment are removed from play.
Using Threat points, a different deployment card (or the same) is brought in - The attachment card is deployed along.
That last part is what I wasn't sure you can do.
Yep, that's exactly how it works.
Basically, you deploy the attachment with the deployment card and it stays there until the all figures on that deployment card are dead.
A wise rebel player will take note of this and not kill that last figure to prevent Imperial re-attachment.
Just to be clear. The scenario I have in mind is:
Start of scenario, Initial deployment of stormtrooper (group of 3) - Adding attachment to the deployment card.
They all die - The deployment card and attachment are removed from play.
Using Threat points, a different deployment card (or the same) is brought in - The attachment card is deployed along.
That last part is what I wasn't sure you can do.
Yep, that's exactly how it works.
Basically, you deploy the attachment with the deployment card and it stays there until the all figures on that deployment card are dead.
A wise rebel player will take note of this and not kill that last figure to prevent Imperial re-attachment.
Arguably, situation depending, the Rebel Player may be just as wise to kill that figure so that the imperial player has to pay full deployment cost (instead of reinforcement costs + something else aswell)...