Targeting question

By Carioz, in CoC Rules Discussion

Ok guys, I am having a major stupidity moment, but I cannot seem to find anymore the rule that specified that cards need to be in play in order to be targeted. Anyone has a pointer?

FAQ under Working Effects :

"Additionally, cards that are in play (or
event cards that are played) do not
interact with cards that are out of play
unless they specifically refer to an out of
play state they will interact with."

Carioz said:

Ok guys, I am having a major stupidity moment, but I cannot seem to find anymore the rule that specified that cards need to be in play in order to be targeted. Anyone has a pointer?

I don't think there is such a rule. Otherwise cards like:

-- Yog-Sothoth --
Gathering at the Stones
-----------------------
Type : Event
Cost : 2
Subtype :
Game Text: Play during your operations phase. Action: Choose a card in your discard pile and put it into your hand.
Flavor text:
Illustrator: Steve Watson
Collector's Info: CS F118

and

-- Agency --
Torch the Joint!
----------------
- Steadfast [AGENCY][AGENCY] -
Type : Event
Cost : 2
Subtype :
Game Text: Play during your operations phase. Action: Choose and destroy a non-[Agency] resource or a Location support card.
Flavor text:
Illustrator: Tomasz Jedruszek
Collector's Info: CS F18

...would never be able to work...

No, what was I looking for is exactly the ruling Dark Young quoted. Thank you very much.