Holy Avenger on crown of command space

By Msrushing, in Talisman Rules Questions

All,

Had a game last night where the dark cultist and the swashbuckler were duking it out on the crown of command.

The swashy had the Holy Avenger card that states "when you land on an evil character" you add +3 to str and gain 1 str and 1 craft if f you win the battle.

We decided that he could not use this card becaue he was not landing on dark cultist per say. Needlees to say this caused the DC to win the game thanks to two lucky 3 rolls to gain a life back from winning the psychic combat demonio.gif

Did we play this right? Thoughts?

Msrushing said:

All,

Had a game last night where the dark cultist and the swashbuckler were duking it out on the crown of command.

The swashy had the Holy Avenger card that states "when you land on an evil character" you add +3 to str and gain 1 str and 1 craft if f you win the battle.

We decided that he could not use this card becaue he was not landing on dark cultist per say. Needlees to say this caused the DC to win the game thanks to two lucky 3 rolls to gain a life back from winning the psychic combat demonio.gif

Did we play this right? Thoughts?

"landing on a space" technically means "to end movement on a space". When you're on the Crown you don't move, but if there are two or more Characters you keep on encountering one of them every Turn. To encounter a Character you must first land on him. I say that the Swashbuckler cannot use the Holy Avenger if attacked by the Dark Cultist, but surely can he benefit from his help during his turn, when he encounters the Dark Cultist on the Crown. Well, he MUST use the Holy Avenger, because he encounters an Evil Character.

I think FFG chose to use the world "land" instead of "encounter" because the presence of the Holy Avenger forces you to attack an Evil Character if you land on him/her. You cannot choose to encounter the space instead.

Well if you dont "move" on the crown space you cant "land" anywhere! You just encounter characters on the space and cast the command spell.

With out a die roll you cant have movement so you cant technically land anywhere which is what the card states has to happen.

Anyone else have a thought? gran_risa.gif

My thought, and the way we play, is that even though you don't, "roll", per se, you are still "landing on the space as if you had rolled and landed anywhere else. Basically, each turn on the COC, it's as if you had just moved there since normally, you would have to move from the space you're on but you can't if it's the COC.

Caliban said:

My thought, and the way we play, is that even though you don't, "roll", per se, you are still "landing on the space as if you had rolled and landed anywhere else. Basically, each turn on the COC, it's as if you had just moved there since normally, you would have to move from the space you're on but you can't if it's the COC.

But following that logic would the Assassin not be able to assassinate on the crown? I know the cards don't read the same but it is the same mechanic.

Not being able for an evil character to get away from a good character with Holy Avenger is pretty over powered as they will get 1str and 1 craft after every battle.

Msrushing said:

But following that logic would the Assassin not be able to assassinate on the crown? I know the cards don't read the same but it is the same mechanic.

Assassin's card specifically states he can't use his ability at the Crown of Command.

Msrushing said:

Well if you dont "move" on the crown space you cant "land" anywhere! You just encounter characters on the space and cast the command spell.

With out a die roll you cant have movement so you cant technically land anywhere which is what the card states has to happen.

Anyone else have a thought? gran_risa.gif

You can use the Holy Avenger on the Crown because (the land on ability always count on your turn,

This is the same for Thief and Merchant, etc ( everyone who has a land on ability)

This rule has been official for some time..

ok i guess i really lost that game then! :)

Thanks guys,

this might not be totally on track with this tread but i have a similar question. say someone casts the spell "immoblize" on you during you turn, so you cant move to another space. do you reencounter the space as if you were "landing on it". since someone above said you land on the CoC spot again, that means you can use the holy avenger, that means that if you were immoblized then you could reencounter the space you are on.

answers?

Promm said:

this might not be totally on track with this tread but i have a similar question. say someone casts the spell "immoblize" on you during you turn, so you cant move to another space. do you reencounter the space as if you were "landing on it". since someone above said you land on the CoC spot again, that means you can use the holy avenger, that means that if you were immoblized then you could reencounter the space you are on.

answers?

Immobility makes you lose your turn, not just movement. And you don't encounter the space you start the turn from, unless you first move somewhere else, then get moved back to where you started from.