Internal Struggles

By dutpotd, in UFS Rules Q & A

F Commit : Reveal your momentum. Your opponent chooses X momentum revealed this way. Add the chosen momentum to the bottom of your deck in any order. Your opponent does the same with you choosing. X equals either the number of cards in your hand.

---

Questions about this card:

a. I presume the last sentence is erratted to 'X equals either the number of cards in your hand or the number in your opponents' - is this correct?

b. Can I form with this card without any momentum? If so, what happens?

ex. I have 4 cards in hand, opponent has 3. I choose X = 4. I reveal my momentum (I have no momentum). The opponent tries to choose 4 of my revealed momentum to add to the bottom of my deck, but cannot, nothing happens. My opponent then does the same, reveals his momentum. Let's assume he reveals 4 cards, can I then place all of those 4 cards to the bottom of his deck in any order?

Thank you for your time attending to this seldom used card.

- dut

For your first question I already got a ruling on it by antigoth. While there's been no official errata, the either is extraneous and shouldn't be there. So your right on that part.

And I'm pretty sure you don't need momentum for this effect. It doesn't say x equals your momentum, there for the amount of momentum you have is irrelevant. (Sp?)

And the I key just popped off my keyboard...... Damnit.

Oops I was wrong about your first question. Err.... sort of. You weren't right. X should equal the number of cards in your hand. So it should read like this.

F Commit : Reveal your momentum. Your opponent chooses X momentum revealed this way. Add the chosen momentum to the bottom of your deck in any order. Your opponent does the same with you choosing. X equals the number of cards in your hand.

Quick question. I had a ruling not to long ago about kabuki artist that said if I had no momentum than the rest of the effect would fizzle out. How is this different. Since your opponent would chose first, would the rest of the effect fizzle because there is no momentum to choose from as is the case with Kabuki artist?? Or am I, most likely, missing some key difference between the two cards?

Thanks,

Muf

Kabuki Artist is specifically referencing the card type that get discarded from your momentum. That's the reason the rest of the effect fizzles, there is no reference point to continue. With internal struggles it's just looking for a number of cards to put @ the bottom of the deck. So it looks at your 0 momentum and adds 6 of it to the bottom of the deck (if you have 6 cards in hand.) Then you're opponent reveals their 5 momentum and 6 of that gets added.

Sorry guys - X has a specific limiter on the card.

It states, "Your opponent chooses X momentum revealed in this way." If a player has 2 momentum, their opponent may choose 0,1, or 2. If a player has no momentum the only number that can be chosen is 0.

Omni-Faq updated with this card, and it's functional errata (remove either from the last sentance)

Wowza, way to dig up an old question and give us a great answer! Nice to see the omni-faq updated too = really good stuff.

Goes w/o saying I ended up not using Internal Struggles in my worlds deck lol - shared the two symbols I was looking for (all and good).

Thanx Antigoth!

- dut

dutpotd said:

Wowza, way to dig up an old question and give us a great answer! Nice to see the omni-faq updated too (ps there is an extra commit word in the torn hero funcation errata) = really good stuff.

Goes w/o saying I ended up not using Internal Struggles in my worlds deck lol - shared the two symbols I was looking for (all and good).

Thanx Antigoth!

- dut

NP - Re: Necroing - I've honestly been avoiding arbiter work since Gencon just to give me a little bit of "deal with other stuff time". Accordingly I'm starting to dig back in, I'm now upto page 5, and will be working my way through. Annotating the Omni-Faq & AGR updates along the way.