Torn hero

By Hayamachop, in UFS Rules Q & A

Can you explain the two rulings to me from the Omni-faq?

* If an effect would target more then 1 card to be committed, Torn Hero may protect one of the selected foundations from being committed. [Antigoth 07/29/09]

So, i.e. Akuma wants to commit 4 of your foundations, torn hero takes the place of 1 commital and you can choose a foundation they cannot commit? and they can only commit 3 more?

* If an effect would commit more cards then you currently have ready in your staging area, Torn Hero can be used to protect 1 of those cards from being committed. [Antigoth 07/29/09]
So again if Akuma wants to commit 4 cards and you only have 3 ready, how does torn hero "protect" a card from being commited? does it just try to commit that card anyways?

Hayamachop said:

Can you explain the two rulings to me from the Omni-faq?

Sure, please note, they are stemming out of THIS thread.

Hayamachop said:

* If an effect would target more then 1 card to be committed, Torn Hero may protect one of the selected foundations from being committed. [Antigoth 07/29/09]

So, i.e. Akuma wants to commit 4 of your foundations, torn hero takes the place of 1 commital and you can choose a foundation they cannot commit? and they can only commit 3 more?

Correct.

Hayamachop said:

* If an effect would commit more cards then you currently have ready in your staging area, Torn Hero can be used to protect 1 of those cards from being committed. [Antigoth 07/29/09]

So again if Akuma wants to commit 4 cards and you only have 3 ready, how does torn hero "protect" a card from being commited? does it just try to commit that card anyways?

Per the link above, Torn Hero will actually respond after the effect is declared where if you have 3 foundations, and Akuma could commit 4 foundations, when akuma's ability attempts to resolve, steps infront and leaves the one foundation in tact.

James has confirmed that Torn Hero is slated for functional Errata.

And if an opponent plays an ability that has 2 options, one of which can commit (amy's being the key one here), torn hero can force your opponent to choose the commital one (stopping damage reduction in amy's case) right?

No. It doesn't force them to choose (because its own trigger happens before any choice would come into play), it modifies the ability itself.

what do you mean by modify?