vimana vs unorthodox fighting style

By deniskiske, in UFS Rules Q & A

Hi everybody, this is my first post here. My name is Denis and I'm from Brazil and we recently started to play ufs here and ,of course, lot of questions about rules came up as long as we played and discussed about it, and this is one of them:

Vimana says: E Lose X vitality: During the Block Step, this attack is completely blocked and deals no damage. X equals the attack's speed.

Unorthodox Fighting Style says: E Commit: Your opponent must discard 1 momentum to block your attack.

I play any attack (my opponent has no mommentum) and as my 1st enhance i do UFS, can my opponent play the vimana enhance? if he can what happens during the block step? does vimana block the attack without discarding mommentum or vimana fails because UFS enhancement that he cannot apply?

Thanks

Hi and welcome to UFS!

In your example, Unortho Fight Stylez creates a condition that bypasses Vimana. In short, Vimana is given another condition in which it must fulfill in order for it's own effect to trigger. No momentum = it cannot successfully resolve it's block in during the block step.

The attack will not be blocked, but it will still deal no damage. Vimana is prevented from blocking, but the rest of its text "...and it deals no damage." still happens.

thank you guys! later i'll be back for more questions

Wafflecopter said:

The attack will not be blocked, but it will still deal no damage. Vimana is prevented from blocking, but the rest of its text "...and it deals no damage." still happens.

I don't think that's how it's meant to work. It says "During the Block Step, this attack is completely blocked and deals no damage." I'm pretty sure it's letting you know that it deals no damage because it was completely blocked. I'm going to assume that if UFS was used and she cannot block, then the ability fails. So During the Block Step, this attack is NOT completely blocked and therefore deals damage. Could be wrong, but it looks like it should work that way.

Incorrect. That is consistent with how Vimana was ruled to work many times. Think about what you just said in the context of Throws. Completely blocked but still deals damage. Vimana is worded the way it is for a reason - that isn't reminder text.