The investigator that casts the spell... can s/he cast it on ANY weapon, even those held by a different investigator in a different location?
Or only their own weapons? Or weapons held by different investigators in the same spot?
Cheers...
The investigator that casts the spell... can s/he cast it on ANY weapon, even those held by a different investigator in a different location?
Or only their own weapons? Or weapons held by different investigators in the same spot?
Cheers...
Own weapon. Are there any items you can use on another investigator? There are spells like Heal, which work for another investigator in the same spot, but you can't do that with EW, because of the turn/phase order.
Well obvious things like Call Friend, the MiGo Brain Case and Bless.
Two of those are spells, which I'm pretty sure are "items" although the wiki where i visited to check the MGBC has spells as separate from "items".
- Mariana the ex-nun cultist
Mariana the Ex-Nun Cultist said:
Well obvious things like Call Friend, the MiGo Brain Case and Bless.
I meant things you can use on another investigator when it's not your turn. CF is even more strictly turn order related, Bless is "same" as Heal.
Dam said:
Mariana the Ex-Nun Cultist said:
Well obvious things like Call Friend, the MiGo Brain Case and Bless.
I meant things you can use on another investigator when it's not your turn . CF is even more strictly turn order related, Bless is "same" as Heal.
!!!!!!!
Oh my! Oh my oh my oh my.... (flicks to pg 5 and sees for the first time the bold print)
Well, that's a revelation...
Somehow through the entire time I've been playing and teaching friends to play, I've played it with no particular order... Which led to some rugged strategising and hence time-consumption as everyone works out best course of action and order to take it in. We always figured that the first player token only ended up mattering in relatively rare cases.
Well... as a (now known) house rule it worked to interesting effect. I wonder how much that impacted the game? It certainly didn't make things any easier given we've only ever won a single game properly (3 games were "won" through Final Battle which we've ended up viewing as "draw" circumstance).
Ugh. The shame.
Dam said:
Own weapon. Are there any items you can use on another investigator? There are spells like Heal, which work for another investigator in the same spot, but you can't do that with EW, because of the turn/phase order.
How does the Turn/Phase order prevent you from casing EW on someone else's weapon?
We have always played that the investigator could cast that spell on another's weapon (which seems to be legit by my reading of the rules)
I think you're wrong on this one but probably because you don't have the exact wording of the card. It specifically says ANY PHASE on the Enchant Weapon card. And any phase items can be used during any investigator's phase/turn
Leo Anderson's ability to prevent Sanity/Stamina loss is a great example. It specifically says ANY PHASE on his ability as well. If he could only do this during his phase/turn, he would rarely be able to prevent stamina loss to other players
The "any phase" refers to the fact that you can do battle with monsters in Phase 2 (movement), Phase 3 (Arkham Encounters), or Phase 4 (OW encounters). Some expansion cards cause some Phase 5 (Mythos) combats as well. It is not an indicator that you can cast the spell on someone else's weapon.
There are weapons and combat spells that say "any phase." That doesn't mean that you can fight monsters on the other side of the board.
Tibs said:
The "any phase" refers to the fact that you can do battle with monsters in Phase 2 (movement), Phase 3 (Arkham Encounters), or Phase 4 (OW encounters). Some expansion cards cause some Phase 5 (Mythos) combats as well. It is not an indicator that you can cast the spell on someone else's weapon.
There are weapons and combat spells that say "any phase." That doesn't mean that you can fight monsters on the other side of the board.
Right, so i'll bring you back to Leo Anderson's Special ability as an example then: Are you saying that he can only prevent one San/Stam loss during his turn? At his location? Not for someone fighting a monster on the other side of the board?
Now the EW card says: Any Phase: Cast and Exhaust.
So i think is obvious that the spell can be case at any time (the whole Turn/Phase order has nothing to do with when that spell can be cast)
The questions are:
1. Can you cast it on another investigators weapon?
I play that you can cast on another investigator's weapon, It say's "Any Weapon", i assume that means In the game not in your inventory or at your current location . But that's my interpretation, i take the word ANY to be all inclusive.
2. If you can, does that wapon have to be at your location?
Since i take ANY to be all inclusive, there is no reason to exclude weapons not at your current location.
This may not be correct but i don't think there is any direct contradictions to this interpretation, Leo's Special ability seems to corroborate it somewhat. And i read somewhere in these forums a KevinW quote saying that spells are tended to be powerful (hence the sanity cost)
This could certainly be added to a FAQ, but maybe i'm the only one who plays this way.
Point about Leo's ability is that it reads: "...for any investigator." Ditto for Mandy and Patrice. All three specifically allow you to use them for other investigators.
EW reads "one Weapon", not any. Would you allow investigator A to use Dragon's Eye he has for investigator B? I've never allowed any cross-investigator use of stuff unless specifically mentioned. Turn-interruptions the same.
Is the Red Sign of Shudde M'ell like this too? I can't decide if a player not in combat can cast it at someone else's monster or not.
McCaber said:
Is the Red Sign of Shudde M'ell like this too? I can't decide if a player not in combat can cast it at someone else's monster or not.
Red Sign requires a hand, so even more out of the question.
I think a good rule of thumb is that no ability or effect works for another player unless specifically stated. The fact that there are no rules to support team-based monster combat serves as evidence that each monster encounter is intended to be a one-on-one struggle.
Although I can see an investigator fighting a monster with the Red Sign, loosing, and still keeping the Sign cast while the next man kills the monster.
McCaber said:
Although I can see an investigator fighting a monster with the Red Sign, loosing, and still keeping the Sign cast while the next man kills the monster.
Red Sign lasts until end of this combat, meaning once you lose and another investigator comes up, the previous combat has ended.