Card Questions - The Reader & Mace Tyrell

By Cruz2, in A Game of Thrones: The Board Game (1st Edition)

OKi, i've looked through the rules even teh faq's online, and i might have missed it there. But, i am still searching for a definate answer.

A Clash of King's, the Greyjoy housecard, The Reader:

"Immediately gain a number of Power Tokens equal to the basic Combat Strength of your opponent’s Units."

So what is the basic combat strength? The exact definition has slipped past me.

I assume that the opponents house card is not counted,

Do you count the march order -1/+1?

Do you count support ? Do you count a support's +1?

I've also wondred at Mace Tyrell's ability from time to time. Does the march order move with the attacking units?

Or does it simply allow one more mvoe from the area the inital march was from

I hope for some good insight:)

Basic combat strength would be the units w/out modifiers. And I think Mace's ability is basically a second march order. I'd have to see the card again to be sure.

"Basic combat strength would be the units w/out modifiers"

Do you count support too?

And a second march order from where:P

Vague answers;)

cruz said:

I've also wondred at Mace Tyrell's ability from time to time. Does the march order move with the attacking units?

Or does it simply allow one mo

Incredible how such things escapes one's notice in the trules after one has played a while. Atleast we did play Mace correctly:)

Thanks for the reply :)

cruz said:

"Basic combat strength would be the units w/out modifiers"

Rules say (p. 12):

The base combat strength comes from the defending and
attacking units. These are the combat strengths of vari-
ous units:


Unit Combat Strength
Footman +1 combat strength point
Knight +2 combat strength point
Ship +1 combat strength point


Thus, an attacking army with 2 Knights and 1 Footman
has a basic combat strength of 5 (4 points from the two
Knights and 1 point from the single Footman).

Pls help about Mace! =)

How should I execute this order?

It's my turn. I won the battle with 2 Knights and 1 footman. Should I immediately use +1 March order for Knights? Or should I only have to place virtual +1 March and wait for my next turn? I think that first variant is right.

It's technically a march order in the place you just took, allowing you to move again with whoever you moved into the territory.

Ghostru said:

Or should I only have to place virtual +1 March and wait for my next turn?