Two questions about Arrogance

By Darkon01, in UFS Rules Q & A

Hi

i have two questions about arrogance:

1) i played 2 forms in my turn with arrogance in my stanging area, in my opponent´s turn your first form is gaishiki lunar rebellion, and destroy arrogance, my question is what happen with the effect of arrogance? is my opponent must play two forms?

2) ones of my forms are playing billiard form´s ability. my question is this form count for arrogance´s requirement?

Thanks for yours answer...

Darkon01 said:

1) i played 2 forms in my turn with arrogance in my stanging area, in my opponent´s turn your first form is gaishiki lunar rebellion, and destroy arrogance, my question is what happen with the effect of arrogance? is my opponent must play two forms?

Just to make sure we're on the same page - Arrogance has received errata , and now reads:

At the end of your turn, lose X vitality. X equals 4 minus the number of forms you played this turn (minimum 0).
During your opponent's turn, they may only play as many forms as you played in your last turn. If you played no forms other than to pass in your preceding turn, your opponent plays as normal.

That being said... Arrogance does not mandate the number of forums your opponent MUST play. It limits the number for forums they MAY play.

Additionally it is a continuous effect. Meaning as long as it's in your staging area, it will generate it's effect. Once it leaves your staging area (ie: being destroyed by GLR,) it no longer creates any impact on the game.

Darkon01 said:

2) ones of my forms are playing billiard form´s ability. my question is this form count for arrogance´s requirement?

Thanks for yours answer...

It does not. Citing the AGR :

8.2 Activating a Form (F)
To activate a Form a player announces which Form on a card in their staging area they wish to use.
8.2.1 Activating a Form (F) has also been referred to as playing a Form. This is not the same as playing a card.
8.2.2 When an effect states that “You must play X as your next Form”, activating a Form will not satisfy this requirement.
8.2.3 If there is a pending Form that is required to be played by a player, they may not choose to activate a Form until that requirement is fulfilled.


If you do not play any cards from hand, you will not have played any forms on your turn, and your opponent is free to play as normal.

...Arrogance doesn't say anything about playing cards, just about playing Forms.

Tagrineth said:

...Arrogance doesn't say anything about playing cards, just about playing Forms.

However the AGR codified that there is a difference between playing forms, and activiating forms.

If you get a chance, take a read through the AGR . There are a number of changes to the rules housed within that clarifiy interactions like this one.

Tag is right. Arrogance doesn't say "play" it says "attempt", So whether you're playing an attack or using Material Advantage it still counts for Arrogance. Note also that attempt includes failure, so if you play 3 attacks, and fail the fourth, your opponent can as well.

During your opponent's turn, they may only attempt as many forms as you attempted in your last turn. If you performed no forms other than to pass in your preceding turn, your opponent plays as normal.

aslum said:

Tag is right. Arrogance doesn't say "play" it says "attempt", So whether you're playing an attack or using Material Advantage it still counts for Arrogance. Note also that attempt includes failure, so if you play 3 attacks, and fail the fourth, your opponent can as well.

During your opponent's turn, they may only attempt as many forms as you attempted in your last turn. If you performed no forms other than to pass in your preceding turn, your opponent plays as normal.

Arrogance was errata'd. Almost a year ago... around October. It's Errata can be found HERE

Arrogance now reads:

At the end of your turn, lose X vitality. X equals 4 minus the number of forms you played this turn (minimum 0).
During your opponent's turn, they may only play as many forms as you played in your last turn. If you played no forms other than to pass in your preceding turn, your opponent plays as normal.

It does NOT count attempted forms. It does NOT count activated forms. Only Played forms.

Ahh, my bad. Seeing as it's an Alba only card it doesn't see any play in our meta and I guess I forgot about the Errata. Sorry about that.