Kabuki Artist

By Muftuk, in UFS Rules Q & A

Since the search function really sucks for this site I will ask a probably old question.

Do you have to have momentum in order to use Kabuki artist? I asked my local scout and he first said no you don't because revealing the momentum is not part of the cost. I than played him in a game and after looking at it a second time he was thinking that you would have to, but was still unsure. So I figured I would beat him to the punch and ask the question myself.

I am also pretty sure of the answer to this but I will ask the question anyways just to make sure. The added card can any card type, correct(so long as it doesn't match the discarded card type)? So if it works that you can do it with no momentum, you can get any card you want from your discard pile because no card type was discarded.

Thanks for the help

Muftuk

If you have no momentum then there is nothing to discard and nothing to compare the new card to. Since the card you're trying to add cannot be a different type to nothing, the effect fizzles and you don't add the card.

At least I think that's how it's been ruled in the past.

Muftuk said:

I am also pretty sure of the answer to this but I will ask the question anyways just to make sure. The added card can any card type, correct(so long as it doesn't match the discarded card type)? So if it works that you can do it with no momentum, you can get any card you want from your discard pile because no card type was discarded.

It'd be sooooo good otherwise tho :(

ChaosChild said:

If you have no momentum then there is nothing to discard and nothing to compare the new card to. Since the card you're trying to add cannot be a different type to nothing, the effect fizzles and you don't add the card.

At least I think that's how it's been ruled in the past.

Yes. It was ruled like this in the past - otherwise it is enhance grab anything, which didn't go over well.

- dut