Concealment

By johnpnewman, in Tide of Iron

This is my first post. I have read through the forum, but I did not see the answer to my questions (doesnt mean the answers are there, I just didn't see them happy.gif ). I have two questions regarding concealment:

1) If a concealed unit passes through a command point hex out of the LOS of the enemy, does that squad become revealed. The squad does not end its turn in the command point hex, only passes through.

Specifically, in the scenario "Silence the Guns" there is a neutral 1 command point hex in the woods on mapboard 10A. If a concealed German unit were to move along the road, he would be out of the LOS of the Allies. A strict reading of the rules would seem to indicate that the squad must be revealed after it passes through such a hex. If the Command point hex were in the line of sight of the Allies and the German unit passed through the hex, I could understand why the unit would be revealed. Is a concealed unit revealed when passing through a command point hex out of sight of the enemy.

2) This is about the set up of concealed units. Can a concealed unit be set up in an entrenched hex or a pill box if it is an objective hex? Isn't a pill box or an entrenchment going to be concealed? So, if a concealed squad sets up in such a hex, why would they be revealed? I can understand an objective hex being under observation, so that if there is a line of sight and an enemy unit enters the objective hex, it would no longer be concealed, but what about when you set up a scenario?

Thanks for the help!

John

1) yes - it is revealed as soon as it enters the hex. - 'someone is keeping an eye on the objective.'

2) you can set up concealed squads in objective hexes. They are not revealed by this alone.

There are 4 instances where you are revealed:

a. shooting.

b. moving Into a hex. Includes leaving a fortification.

c. being spottet somewhere you can not hide. Smoke does not count.

d. someone comes close. And only in status phase then.

plus at least one strategy card.

This clarifies things for me. Thank you for your response.