Silvan Tracker's ability reads:
"Response: After a Silvan character readies during the refresh phase, heal 1 damage from that character."
Question:
- Does a ready, damaged, silvan character heal during the refresh phase?
Of course, to have this question make sense I'm assuming that you can ready an exhausted card (but nothing happens ofc).
In the rulebook, you can read on page 22, refresh phase section:
"During the refresh phase, all exhausted cards ready"
But, on page 31 (quick reference), refresh pahse:
"• Each player refreshes all cards he controls."
Now, it seems clear that the quick reference should be viewed just as a shortcut, thus the actual rules are those comprised in the "rulebook" section, so I think if we want to follow the letter of the rulebook a (silvan) character that was ready doesn't heal any damage during refresh.
If all of the above is correct, however, I'm wondering what the intent was: was it phrased "refresh exhausted characters" just to make clear that ready characters do not need to refresh, so that it might be acceptable as some kind of house rule to have ready characters "ready" during refresh (thus healing 1 dmg), or do you think it would be against the spirit of the rules?
It seems a bit strange to me that you cannot get a benefit because you couldn't do something you usually want to avoid - also see Galadriel + Arwen : it's very strange that something that's supposed to work in you favor can actually hinder you.
I think having the option to exhaust characters as an action during combat phase would solve both these issues.