So I was just wondering how the text on Valued but not Trusted worked exactly. "E destroy this foundation: Name a card. Abilities printed on copies of the named card may not be played during this attacks enhance phase." Can this effect stop Continues Abilities, since they are abilities? I just wasn't sure how that would play out and thought I would get the official ruling from you guys. Thanks in advance.
Valued but not Trusted Question
Continuous abilties are not played. They are always in effect. So if you name (as an example) US Airbase, nothing happens, because the static text still triggers when applicable since it's not triggered.
Ok so even though Continuous Abilities are in fact abilities and Valued but not Trusted just states "abilities" it doesn't work. I understand that Continuous Abilities aren't played and always take effect it just seemed to me that the way Valued but not Trusted is worded might have allowed it to effectively blank them for the enhance phase, since it just says "abilities".
I know what you meant by the following statement but seems a little contradictive. "...because the static text still triggers when applicable since it's not triggered." How can that that has no trigger be triggered?
Antigoth said:
Continuous abilties are not played. They are always in effect. So if you name (as an example) US Airbase, nothing happens, because the static text still triggers when applicable since it's not PLAYED .
Fixed.
aslum said:
Antigoth said:
Continuous abilties are not played. They are always in effect. So if you name (as an example) US Airbase, nothing happens, because the static text still triggers when applicable since it's not PLAYED .
Fixed.
What he said.
For what it's worth, have you read the AGR sections on played abilities and continuous abilities?
I have read them and that's why I questioned. It's seems the root of the question really falls back to the "played" term. Since in 2.9 of the AR talks about how "Played Abilities are preceded by a bold face term: Form, Enhance, or Response." Then in 2.10 it states that Continuous Abilities are "Abilities that are not preceded by a bold face term and colon. Continuous Abilities are always active". Either way they are both Abilities. And the way Valued but not Trusted is worded it doesn't specify the type of ability, but rather abilities printed on the card may not be played. Are Continuous Abilities not abilities printed on a card? It's not like Bring the Master to His Knees where it requires you to select a type of Ability that cannot be used either E, F, or R. Clearly Bring the Master to His Knees only prevents the use of Played Abilities, since it names all 3 of them. That however is not what the words on Valued but not Trusted say.
The use of the word "played" seems to be where my logic and thus understand differs from yours. I am correct in saying that if the text read "...abilities printed on copies of the named card may not be used during this attack's Enhance Phase." then it should work since Continuous Abilities are not "played" because they are not Played Abilities, rather they are used when there text says they are?
Ken_Masters said:
I have read them and that's why I questioned. It's seems the root of the question really falls back to the "played" term. Since in 2.9 of the AR talks about how "Played Abilities are preceded by a bold face term: Form, Enhance, or Response." Then in 2.10 it states that Continuous Abilities are "Abilities that are not preceded by a bold face term and colon. Continuous Abilities are always active". Either way they are both Abilities. And the way Valued but not Trusted is worded it doesn't specify the type of ability, but rather abilities printed on the card may not be played. Are Continuous Abilities not abilities printed on a card? It's not like Bring the Master to His Knees where it requires you to select a type of Ability that cannot be used either E, F, or R. Clearly Bring the Master to His Knees only prevents the use of Played Abilities, since it names all 3 of them. That however is not what the words on Valued but not Trusted say.
The use of the word "played" seems to be where my logic and thus understand differs from yours. I am correct in saying that if the text read "...abilities printed on copies of the named card may not be used during this attack's Enhance Phase." then it should work since Continuous Abilities are not "played" because they are not Played Abilities, rather they are used when there text says they are?
That is where we differ. 1) You don't use continuous abilities. They just happen. 2) May not be played I bolded it because that is key to what this is hinging on. If Valued but not trusted said "Blank all the text." or "Blank all the abilities" then it would stop a continous ability. However at this point in time, there is nothing in the game that will stop a continous ability.
Don't Rashotep himself and Ka Technique stop continuous abilities because there text does read "Blank the text box"? Even if it's only for the turn.
I appreciate your patience and deligence to work through this matter with me Antigoth, even if it makes my brain melt.
Just for some peace of mind, you see what I'm sayin though about the wording on Valued but not Trusted right? I mean even if that's not how it's played the wording/termnology used could have been a little clearer.
Ken_Masters said:
Don't Rashotep himself and Ka Technique stop continuous abilities because there text does read "Blank the text box"? Even if it's only for the turn.
Regarding Rashotep / Ka Technique - Yes, they do blank continous abilites. However both are done as E's. In that same Catagory there is also No Forgiveness!, and Atoning for Wicked Deeds. However none of those a R abilities that negate or cancel continuous abilities.
Ken_Masters said:
I appreciate your patience and deligence to work through this matter with me Antigoth, even if it makes my brain melt. Just for some peace of mind, you see what I'm sayin though about the wording on Valued but not Trusted right? I mean even if that's not how it's played the wording/termnology used could have been a little clearer.
I totally get where you're coming from, and I totally get what you saw. I will disagree with you however on the need for the wording to be clearer.
Stuff like Valued but not trusted was taken into account when the AGR was being written. Additionally there was a two way synergy between the card design and the AGR. Note for example Tira's Jolly and Gloomy sides, referencing any "game zone". The card was worded that way specifically because of where we were going with the AGR.
Valued but not Trusted can be used quite literally, and backed up with literal interpretation of the rules text. Where the challenge comes in is the depth of UFS, and the fact that we're currently at a 40 page rulebook, that in a few years will probably grow to 50 or 60 pages. (Actually, I can see it doubling in size over the next two years, between things like an expanded glossary, and an eventual index.) There's a lot of stuff to absorb, and if you don't live it and breath it, it's easy to miss some of the nuances, and in my books, this is very much a nuance.