Admiral Screed: Crit Icon Clarification

By Demethostes, in Star Wars: Armada Rules Questions

So, just to clarify: Admiral Screed's text states:

Once per activation, when a friendly ship is attacking, it may spend 1 die to change a die to a face with a [crit] icon.

If used on a black die, is one of the faces with a crit and a hit on the same face a valid option to be changed to?

Also, is the die spent before or after rolling? And if after, is this before or after defensive tokens are spent?

To my current understanding it includes the side with a hit and a crit, I believe the preview alluded to this.

The die would be spent after rolling, If you took at the timing on the RRG it says this, the same goes for the Concentrate Fire dial or the Dominator title.

Also according to the timing on the RRG it would be before defensive tokens are spent.

Any face with a crit icon and any other icons counts. In the introduction to the Star Destroyer expansion packs , they use that exact example

Still, Admiral Screed’s ability can come in handy even if you don’t roll blanks. For example, the face of the black attack die that shows a swm01_crit_hit_black.png result also shows a swm01_hit_black.png result. If you sacrifice one swm01_hit_black.png result to convert another swm01_hit_black.png result to a result of swm01_hit_black.png plus swm01_crit_hit_black.png , you lose no damage but gain the opportunity to trigger a critical effect.

And yep to confirm, all this happens in step 3 of the attack, after rolling but before defence tokens. At the same time as other modify dice effects (like Concentrate Fire).

It happens after you roll the dice, because you might naturally roll the crit result and therefore not need to sacrifice the dice in the first place :)

(It also gives you flexability around blanks, but also surplus accuracy results if the defender doesnt have any defense tokens left or applicable).

Thanks, everyone. It just really struck me as unusually advantageous... most games I've seen will force you to decide before the dice are rolled whether the risk-vs-reward of spending a resource for manipulating dice results is worth it... That this allows you to roll the dice as normal and then take your pick of the litter, is very impressive.

I take it this applies to all "spend X dice" card texts?

Yes.