I keep reading things about the Universities being able to get 3 technologies in one turn. How does one go about doing that?
3 technologies in one turn
Crycious said:
I keep reading things about the Universities being able to get 3 technologies in one turn. How does one go about doing that?
It's only possible with the Shattered Empires version of Technology (ie, Technology II).
The primary of that ability lets you get a free tech, and then you have the option of buying a second tech for 8 resources. The secondary lets other players buy a tech for 6 resources.
The Jol-Nar's ability lets them execute the primary every time they execute Tech secondary. Thus, they can get the 2 techs from the Primary PLUS the tech from the secondary. Per the FAQ, they can choose to go cheapest-to-most-expensive, too: IE, they can get the free tech from Primary, then choose to buy the 6-resource tech next, then end with the 8-resource tech if they want.
There's also an action card which says something along the line of 'When you activate the primary of your strategy card, you may also take the secondary effect', to get a total of three techs with old Tech. That'd be four with new Tech? The card might be specifically about Tech rather than general, I don't have it to hand.
No, you cannot activate a Primary or Secondary Ability 2 times in one turn. In this case, if you were the Universities, you would be able to play the Secondary Ability if you had the Tech SC and played the Primary. You could not then use the racial ability to activate the Primary because you have already activated the Primary.
Thanks for the replies guys!
i have a question about the Sarween Tools
if you got the tools makes it every unit cheaper about 1? or just the whole purchase?
FunkyBunch said:
No, you cannot activate a Primary or Secondary Ability 2 times in one turn. In this case, if you were the Universities, you would be able to play the Secondary Ability if you had the Tech SC and played the Primary. You could not then use the racial ability to activate the Primary because you have already activated the Primary.
Why not? I don't think it's particularly against the spirit of the rules for Jol-Nar to get *even more* tech, and after the expansion added four more techs, it is now that much harder for Jal-Nar to complete the Moral Victory objective of getting all the techs.
This is in conjunction with the Moral Victory objectives of putting all your models on the board, and claiming both Mellon *and* Wellon.
It's a well known fact that claiming Mellon and Wellon deserves a standing ovation, as clearly stated in the standard rulebook (on Page 45).
As for Sarween Tools, it makes the whole purchase cheaper by 1, not each unit.
possumman said:
It's a well known fact that claiming Mellon and Wellon deserves a standing ovation, as clearly stated in the standard rulebook (on Page 45).
As for Sarween Tools, it makes the whole purchase cheaper by 1, not each unit.
Just to add to this, though, one thing to point out is that it makes the whole purchase for THAT SPACEDOCK cheaper by 1. Usually this distinction doesn't matter, but it does mean that the Sarween Tools at one dock cannot contribute to "split" a build.
IE, if you have 2 Space Docks in a system and want to buy a single Cruiser, you can't build it for free, because you can't split a build like that; one of the docks has to build it, and thus you'd get the 1 for Sarween Tools and would have to pay for the other 1.
There's also an action card, "Alien Technology" or something, that lets you, as an action, buy a techno for 4 resources. Basically you find a long-lost space hulk.