Initiative: Can Advantages roll for Initiative be used

By smilingcoyote, in Star Wars: Edge of the Empire RPG

2 questions to be posted to the community...

1. Can advantages rolled for initiative rolls be used as per combat or skill rolls (such as converted to immediate free manoevers).

2. So if you rolled only 2 advantages. It means you have no successes and loose to NPC's who roll 1 success?

Thanks all.

1. Not RAW, a lot of people have house rules though on this subject. I personally don't care much for them because I find they end up making advantages more valuable on initiative checks than successes. Plus they slow things down as people consider spending them.

2. Yes. Advantages only matter for initiatives with the same successes.

1. Technically no, they are only tie-breakers. Depends on the GM, I think if somebody had a ridiculous number of Advantages I'd let them convert some of them to future maneuvers.

2. Yes, I believe the order of precedence is Triumphs, Success, Advantages. So one Triumph beats any Successes, and 1 Success beats any Advantages. But I'd let players use their Triumphs and Advantages for other purposes.

I usually use a 3 digit notation when listing the rolls, e.g.:

1.1.3 - 1 Triumph, 1 Success (from the Triumph), 3 Advantages

0.2.0 - 2 Successes

0.0.4 - 4 Advantages

I allow it in my games. Not for generating boost dice or upgrades, but for the maneuver - either to move into cover when the fight breaks out or, more commonly, to draw your weapon.

Edited by What

Triumphs are not actually used in Initiative, RAW, but we house rule to allow them to give a free maneuver before combat. Advantages are only tie breakers for us.

Thanks for the confirmation.

I guess I will stick to the rules of Advantages only being tie-breakers. It would make initiatives more meaningful, than to allow advantages to be converted to manoeuvres.

Especially since there are no difficulty or possibility of setbacks.

The GM can still apply setbacks...maybe the Vigilance side is standing on a frozen creek, while the ambush side is in good terrain...

If you want something to provide maneuvers, I would use the Triumph for that. This would mean that the only PCs getting free maneuvers are those that actually invest ranks in Cool and Vigilance.

I'm pretty sure one of the devs weighed in on the Advantage thing, and you can spend them as per normal Advantage, but then they don't count for tie-breakers (so if you got 3 Success 2 Advantage, and an NPC got 3 Success 1 Advantage, and you spend your 2 Advantage, the NPC goes ahead of you).

Note that nothing in the rules forbids it, so it's not technically "against" the rules, but it can indeed slow things down, as can any equivocation on how to interpret die results. Just don't let it slow things down, and you should be fine.

I'd have to sift through the Order 66 Podcast notes, but one of the FFG guys talked about it in there somewhere.