Some questions

By drzewko, in Twilight Imperium 3rd Edition

Hi everyone! I've got some questions about the rules...

1. clan of saar... situation: i've got 3 space docks, two in my home system and one outside, i activate the home system and can i move the third dock to my home system ? in instruction it is said that when i'm building a space docks it got to be one planet for a space dock, but in this situation im not building a space dock but i'm moving it to another system

2. another question for the saar... can space docks be offensive ? with the racial ability can i move them with the 5 fighters and fight with those fighters in other systems ?

3. public objective... i'm not quite sure but can i spend trade goods (or political cards as trade goods) to execute the public objective that is said: "spend 20 influence". in instruction it is said that trade goods can be used as a production or influence but i want to be sure. the same for secondary ability of the leadership, can i simply discard 2 politic cards and 2 trade goods to gain two command counters ?

4.can i fullfill both public and secret objective in status ?

5. the yin brotherhood... i can reverse the valve of production and influence of the whole planets that i have untapped during one game round ?

I don't have the race sheets so I am depending on my memory.

1) Yes you can. Like you said you are moving space docks not build them.

2) I'm not sure but as far as I remember you can't move space dock to a system with enemy ships so in this case you wont be able to use space dock in that way.

3) Yes you can. You are allowed to use trading goods in excange for influence (but you can't do it durning agenda) and you can discard political action to gain trade goods.

4) Yes, you can :) You are not allowed to claim for more than one public objective durning status phase but you can claim for public and secret objective.

5) As far as I rememerb you can use this ability to any ONE planet you control.

1.) Yes you may move the spacedock into your homesystem, however you may not build with it as Saar spacedocks cannot move and build in the same action.

2.) Yes you can, using zero fleet supply - just remember that Saar spacedocks cannot retreat, and if they are ever alone in a system with enemy ships then they are instantly destroyed.

3.) Yes, you can.

4.) Yes, you can.

5.) You may do this to any one unexhausted planet you control - it doesn't matter why it's unexhausted, so long as it's yours. Also don't forget it swaps the values until the end of the round, so can affect things even after you spend it.

possumman said:

1.) Yes you may move the spacedock into your homesystem, however you may not build with it as Saar spacedocks cannot move and build in the same action.

Okey but in next round if i have enviro compensator + race tech i can build up to 18 units in my home system is that correct ?

Yes, you can build up to 18 units next round. You could still build 12 units this current round too, and (IIRC) you could build 18 with an action/strategy card; I'm pretty sure you just can't move and build in the same activation.

Thanks for anwsers. Now i think everything is clear to me.

Last game, our Saar playes loaded up his space docks with fighters, added some Carriers with fighters, and then dominated militarily. It's pretty brutal.

poprhetor said:

Last game, our Saar playes loaded up his space docks with fighters, added some Carriers with fighters, and then dominated militarily. It's pretty brutal.

ADT ADT ADT ADT ADT ADT..........'

Did I say ADT?

Oh, and Friendly Fire.

Sorry, brain fart. ADT?

Automated Defense Turrets. They eat through fighters like nothing else.

Sure, he wasn't invincible, but it's a good start. :)

One more question has appeard when we was playing yesterday. Can action card break hacan trade aggreament ?

Don't think so.

Nothing can break Hacan trade agreements except when specifically stated. The two things that can (Trade I and combat) state this specifically. Note that even Trade II cannot break their trade pacts.

Actually, they can. The FAQ clarifies that what their ability means is that a player cannot voluntarily break a trade agreement during the Status Phase.

Page 6:

Q: The Hacan special ability states that no player may break a trade agreement with the Hacan. Does this include the playing of relevant Action Cards and option "b" of the Trade Strategy as well?

A: The Hacan's special ability refers only to the point during the Status Phase where a trading partner is normally allowed to break a trade agreement for any reason with another player (TI3 rules pg. 25). Trade agreements with the Hacan cannot be broken in this fashion, but can be broken by any other means, such as the playing of certain Action Cards, Political Cards, option "b" of the Trade Strategy, etc.

(Note that Trade II's text specifically exempts the Hacan, probably in part to compensate for the fact that with Trade II, the Hacan's ability that says they don't have to spend a CC to use Trade secondary is useless)