Just to make sure, we realized that if you except the 5 excepted locations, Tsathoggua actually DOES prevent you from having an encounter at the inner sanctum, right ? Are there some other weird cancellings like that ?
Tsathoggua : ANY special event ?
You mean if you're a member of the Lodge? Tsathoggua does indeed cancel the text written on the board, but not the text on your Twilight Lodge Membership card, so you can still have encounters at the Inner Sanctum
That's a bit weird, don't you think ? I mean, the stuff says "if you have a membership card, you can have a inner sanctum encounter"...
And by the way : urban cards discarded, does that mean you really discard them without even reading the whole card ? or does that mean you read everything BUT the event line ?
Hem said:
And by the way : urban cards discarded, does that mean you really discard them without even reading the whole card ? or does that mean you read everything BUT the event line ?
As with Ithaqua (weather) and Atlach-Nacha (mystic), you still do the gate opening, clue placement and monster movement, you just miss out the special text and any existing environment remains.
Cthugha from Innsmouth Horror does discard all Environment (weather) cards entirely - just draw a completely new card.
Hem said:
And by the way : urban cards discarded, does that mean you really discard them without even reading the whole card ? or does that mean you read everything BUT the event line ?
Do steps 1-3, ignore step 4 of the Mythos phase (p. 9). Same deal with Ithaqua and Weather and whichever KH does that to Mythos (might be Atlast Nachos
). Cthugha from IH is different, the whole card is ignored and a replacement drawn.
Er..... thanks, my clone friends
For the inner sanctum, do you agree with the fellow invest who answered first ?
STL Membership card also states the Inner Sanctum encounter bit and Gene Simmons
doesn't negate that text. Falcon Point is an interesting location though.
Dam said:
STL Membership card also states the Inner Sanctum encounter bit and Gene Simmons
doesn't negate that text. Falcon Point is an interesting location though.
Maybe it's handled like the railstation / bus stop:
Since it's a location ability used for moving between locations (or even towns), it might still work.
Vitus_Prem said:
Dam said:
STL Membership card also states the Inner Sanctum encounter bit and Gene Simmons
doesn't negate that text. Falcon Point is an interesting location though.
Maybe it's handled like the railstation / bus stop:
Since it's a location ability used for moving between locations (or even towns), it might still work.
Train/Bus ride is from the rules, Tsathoggua can't touch them. He's just a GOO, not a rules-lawyer
!
Dam said:
Vitus_Prem said:
Dam said:
STL Membership card also states the Inner Sanctum encounter bit and Gene Simmons
doesn't negate that text. Falcon Point is an interesting location though.
Maybe it's handled like the railstation / bus stop:
Since it's a location ability used for moving between locations (or even towns), it might still work.
Train/Bus ride is from the rules, Tsathoggua can't touch them. He's just a GOO, not a rules-lawyer
!
I was refering to the part "his does not prevent investigators from having encounters or traveling between cities" from his card text.
Vitus_Prem said:
I was refering to the part "his does not prevent investigators from having encounters or traveling between cities" from his card text.
So you can use Falcon Point to move from there to an aquatic spot in another town, but not to Devil's Reef
?
Dam said:
Vitus_Prem said:
I was refering to the part "his does not prevent investigators from having encounters or traveling between cities" from his card text.
So you can use Falcon Point to move from there to an aquatic spot in another town, but not to Devil's Reef
?
Yeah, that's the part that doesn't make much sense, so I figured, when Tsathoggua was created, there was no meaning in using a "special" location ability to travel from one location to another, if it wasn't in different towns.
Since you should still be able to use the Falcon Point to move to another town, that should mean they still have boats there. So it shouldn't be that much of a problem to use one to get to a much nearer location...
Yeah, Tsathoggua vs Falcon Point needs a clarification. Of course, Silas would rock then. Getting an encounter at EOoD which dumps on you on the "islands" as any other than Silas, you'd get to sample some of the encounters at D. Reef and Y'ha in hope of getting out of there
.
I would think that the general rule-of-thumb is Tsathoggua affects the Arkham Encounter Phase. If the Location Ability is during the Movement Phase, just let it go. I can't imagine FFG will rule it any other way, no matter how much rule-lawyers object.
First one to bring up the Innsmouth Jail draws 10 Innsmouth Look Cards.
I don't think Falcon Point is affected by Tsathoggua. Otherwise, to get to Devil's Reef, you'd need to
- be Silas Marsh,
- become LiTaS,
- use a gate to the same Other World (or White Ship / Gate Box),
- take the Nightgaunt express, or
- hope for an encounter that moves you there.
None of these ways work reliably with any setup, and not being able to reach Devil's Reef when there's a gate isn't fun.
I'm sure Innsmouth Jail is not affected, as well as the ally where you can assist in a prison break.
HëllRÆZØR said:
I don't think Falcon Point is affected by Tsathoggua. Otherwise, to get to Devil's Reef, you'd need to
- be Silas Marsh,
- become LiTaS,
- use a gate to the same Other World (or White Ship / Gate Box),
- take the Nightgaunt express, or
- hope for an encounter that moves you there.
None of these ways work reliably with any setup, and not being able to reach Devil's Reef when there's a gate isn't fun.
I'm sure Innsmouth Jail is not affected, as well as the ally where you can assist in a prison break.
Hey, good question... If an encounter says something like "the man offers you a ride. choose another location and have an encounter there", can you choose the devil reef? Wouldn't make any sense at all, but I can't see rules preventing it right now.
Vitus_Prem said:
Hey, good question... If an encounter says something like "the man offers you a ride. choose another location and have an encounter there", can you choose the devil reef? Wouldn't make any sense at all, but I can't see rules preventing it right now.
At work, but IIRC D. Reef and Y'ha have limited access based on the rulebook. Though with regard to Tsathoggua, would he also negate the "must stop" at D. Reef? Also, no Flyers would be able to move to D. Reef as normal, per the location's text?
AfaIk, the only restriction for Devil's Reef is that you must stop when you move there (during movement phase), but no further restrictions. To Y'ha-nthlei (IH) or to the Strange High House in the Mist (KH) however, you can only get from the adjacent location. I think the only valid exception here would be if an encounter says you can go to THAT specific location, but I don't think encounters that allow to go to any location allow you to move to Y'ha-nthlei, or to the Strange High House in the Mist.
HëllRÆZØR said:
AfaIk, the only restriction for Devil's Reef is that you must stop when you move there (during movement phase), but no further restrictions. To Y'ha-nthlei (IH) or to the Strange High House in the Mist (KH) however, you can only get from the adjacent location. I think the only valid exception here would be if an encounter says you can go to THAT specific location, but I don't think encounters that allow to go to any location allow you to move to Y'ha-nthlei, or to the Strange High House in the Mist.
"These two locations are not connected to the rest of the
Innsmouth board. They can only be reached by aquatic
movement. Investigators can use the Falcon Point location
ability to make aquatic moves as needed." (p. 6, IH rules)
(regarding D. Reef and Y'ha)
Dam said:
"These two locations are not connected to the rest of the
Innsmouth board. They can only be reached by aquatic
movement. Investigators can use the Falcon Point location
ability to make aquatic moves as needed." (p. 6, IH rules)
I think here, "can only be reached" means by usual means. Y'ha-nthlei, however, seems somewhat special. E.g, the rules say "Exception: Investigators cannot return to Y’ha-nthlei from Lost in Time and Space." (page 6, no mention of Devil Reef).
Furthermore, the special abilities read:
- Devil Reef: Accursed: Investigators must end their movement upon entering Devil Reef. [...]
- Y'ha-nthlei: Inaccessible: Investigators may only enter Y'ha-nthlei from Devil Reef or when returning from an Other World, regardless of other game effects. This is even true if there is an open gate here.
So to me, it sounds like there are no special restrictions for Devil Reef, except that it's not connected to the rest of the map, and that you must end your movement there.
Dam said:
Yeah, Tsathoggua vs Falcon Point needs a clarification. Of course, Silas would rock then. Getting an encounter at EOoD which dumps on you on the "islands" as any other than Silas, you'd get to sample some of the encounters at D. Reef and Y'ha in hope of getting out of there
.
Of course, that's when the Devil Reef gate would show you Ry'leh.
HëllRÆZØR said:
I think here, "can only be reached" means by usual means. Y'ha-nthlei, however, seems somewhat special. E.g, the rules say "Exception: Investigators cannot return to Y’ha-nthlei from Lost in Time and Space." (page 6, no mention of Devil Reef).
Furthermore, the special abilities read:
- Devil Reef: Accursed: Investigators must end their movement upon entering Devil Reef. [...]
- Y'ha-nthlei: Inaccessible: Investigators may only enter Y'ha-nthlei from Devil Reef or when returning from an Other World, regardless of other game effects. This is even true if there is an open gate here.
So to me, it sounds like there are no special restrictions for Devil Reef, except that it's not connected to the rest of the map, and that you must end your movement there.
I read the opposite then I suppose. I have not, nor will, barring an official clarification (and even them would probably house rule it) allowed/used that if you get, say a Bill Washington offering you a ride to anywhere in Arkham, that you can go to D. Reef. Y'ha is of course a gimmie. If you allow it, in a Tsat game you would then also allow Bill to take you to Y'ha in his car
(since Tsat blanks Y'ha's text)?
I don't think Tsathoggua affects Devil's Reef or Y'ha-nthlei, either (no need to help the investigators here ^^).
And if you want to prevent aquatic movement with vehicles, don't forget to invent some house rules for the patrol wagon -
leaving
Devil Reef or Y'ha-nthlei and entering a normal location is perfectly legal, since it only matters where you
end
your movement.
This is Tsathoggua's malaise ability:
Malaise - While Tsathoggua stirs in his slumber, investigators cannot use the special ability of any locations other than the Arkham Asylum, Curiositie Shoppe, General Store, Ye Olde Magick Shoppe, and St. Mary's Hospital. This does not prevent investigators from having encounters or traveling between cities.
It seems pretty clear that Malaise does not extend to Devil's Reef or Y'ha-nthlei, since the investigators cannot "use" those abilities in the first place. Unforutnately, it also seems clear that the Falcon Pt special ability cannot be used, since Malaise isn't limited to the Encounters Phase.
I am confident that Kevin will clarify that Malaise only affects the "instead of having an encounter" abilities.