Ruling On Dead For A Thousand Years?

By Viewtiful_Joe, in UFS Rules Q & A

I hear that there's a ruling on Dead For A Thousand Years that makes it more powerful than it should be, but having tried to use the search function on these forums, I couldn't find what it was, so if someone could tell me what makes it so good, that would be great, I've been looking for an excuse to play that card for a while!

it blanks the effect before it resolves. So by the time its target resolves it is "blank" and does nothing.

So in essense it blanks and negates an ability, but its not really negating, because if it was during say heel snipe, you could still blank an effect to "stop" an E but you cannot negate an E.

hope that helps

Hang on, surely if thats the case, then foundations that blow themselves up, like Charismatic, don't work when you use them, because the foundation (and therefore, the text box as is shown in the case of Dead For A Thousand Years) aren't there when the effect would go into place? Perhaps I'm just confused, but is it because DFATY blanks the cost as well as the effect? Otherwise I don't see a difference in the way these different things resolve...

Actually that ruling that DF1kY blanks and therefore negates the ability has been overturned.

It does however blank all further uses, but does not stop / negate the use of the immediate foundation it is responding to.

There will be a clarification in the September AGR update (to coincide with the release of set 13) where blanking is added to the glossary, and is considered to be synonomus to removal. <That is by no means the exact final wording of what will be in the AGR, but simply an overview>

huzzah there was much rejoicing etc

edit: haha thanks AG, I'm starting to get vertigo following the links back and forth between these threads...

edit ^ 2: you might want to change your link to "http:// www. fantasyflightgames.blahblahblah", instead of http:// new , because the login cookies don't carry across the subdomains