Beast Hurricane

By Judas225, in UFS Rules Q & A

Beast Hurricane played as a reversal gets a damage bonus based on the zone of the attack that was blocked. When using the enhance(s), does Beast Hurricane reference the original attack zone of the card or does it reference the zone at the time of blocking (through some effect like Light on One's Feet)?

014.jpg Judas225 said:

Beast Hurricane played as a reversal gets a damage bonus based on the zone of the attack that was blocked. When using the enhance(s), does Beast Hurricane reference the original attack zone of the card or does it reference the zone at the time of blocking (through some effect like Light on One's Feet)?

Based on the card text, it doesn't matter what the block was, it matters what zone the previous attack was. Once the attack sequence has ended, all enhancement modifications are removed and the previous card returns to its printed values.

So in this instance, the Beast Hurricane would refer to the printed values.

Thanks for the quick response. However, the rules text states that the reversal step is still part of the attack sequence. This would imply that any zone change would be in effect until the reversal step is finished.

8.3 The Attack Sequence
Once you have successfully played an attack as a Form (through the steps outlined at either 8.1 or 8.2),
you enter the attack sequence. It is comprised of the following steps: Enhance Phase, Block Step,
Damage Step, and Reversal Step.
8.3.0.1 Any non-continuous changes to an attack’s base/printed values will end after
the attack sequence has resolved.

Yes, however there is the following rule:

8.3.4.3 Successfully playing a Reversal will initiate a new attack sequence. Complete with its own Enhance, Block, Damage, and Reversal Steps. (See 8.3 The attack sequence.)

Once a new attack sequence is initiated the old one is considered resolved.

Ahh I understand now. So once a reversal is played the reversal step ends? How would this interact with the timing on Demuth's Sponshorship, playing a reversal and then responding with Demuth's?

15.jpg Judas225 said:

Ahh I understand now. So once a reversal is played the reversal step ends? How would this interact with the timing on Demuth's Sponshorship, playing a reversal and then responding with Demuth's?

You would play the reversal during the reversal step, and go through that attack sequence. You would then be back at the window of the original attack resolving.

You're already passed the reversal step, but there is still the trigger window of "Resolving the form." This was where Chun-Li would trigger (now banned), and Demuth's and other similar effects would resolve. Flowing strikes would be played, and resolved, prior to going to this window.

If this seems a little bit confusing, what I will do when I'm running an event, is drop pennies on the table to represent the different trigger windows. And you work through each window, until finally the original window is closed, and the game proceeds from that point.

Example - your opponent plays pommel Smash.

You block it, play beast hurricane during the reversal step.

Drop a penny over the pommel smash to represent that we have to go "back" to the "form has been resolved window"

Resolve the beast Hurricane. If they block it, there is the window for them to drop a reversal. If they were to play a reversal, you'd drop another penny over the beast hurricane to represent another timing window to go back to.

Once they chuck a second pommel smash at you as a reversal, and it's fully resolved, you would then go back and check to see if there's anything to be resolved after the beast hurricane's attack sequence. If there's not, pull the penny off the table, and head back to very first Pommel Smash's penny - now you would play Demuth's R, and resolve it. After that you'd still be at the same window, where similar abilities could be played. Finally once both players have passed playing responses to the window, the penny would be removed from the table, and your opponent would resume his normal turn sequence.

Let me know if that helped or confused more.

That helps me prefectly although the wordingmight confuse some players.

Thanks again.

Now this gives me another question to ask, about Combos : some attacks have been made seemingly specifically so as to trigger a Combo by changing their Attack Zones (Grappling Knee Strike). Does this ruling mean that changing an attack's zone will not help trigger, say for example, Dragon's Flame Combo?

Nekuro said:

Now this gives me another question to ask, about Combos : some attacks have been made seemingly specifically so as to trigger a Combo by changing their Attack Zones (Grappling Knee Strike). Does this ruling mean that changing an attack's zone will not help trigger, say for example, Dragon's Flame Combo?

Correct.

Ouch.


Well, thanks for the answer, that helps :)