Questions on a few cards...

By JChang, in UFS Rules Q & A

I have a few questions about cards and situations. First one is about Fury of the Ancients. With the Zi Mei's E on Fury, it says "you may destroy foundations in addition to discarding momentum in order to pay for this card's multiple cost." So do I have to pay at least one momentum and then can destroy 2 other foundations to use as multiples? Or can I just destroy up to 3 momentum and have no momentum at all?

Also, if I do give the attack more multiples, can I destroy more foundations for the total of multiple costs that I need to pay? For instance if I give it an additional multiple:2 and it has multiple:3 already. Can I destroy up to a total of 5 foundations to use to pay for the cost?

I already asked my scout about this question and he agrees with me, but I just wanted to throw it out there to have a second look and maybe if someone else might run into the same situation. But basically Player A plays senkyutai, Player B has Anti Social, Player A has one momentum and after playing his attack (senkyutai), player B responds with anti social. So basically the question is can player A pay the cost of the static effect of senkyutai to negate anti social. Or does it kick off since it's after an attack is played?

We came to the conclusion that it does negate it since it's a static ability that supposed to stop all Rs on the field but it has to be paid with one momentum cost. So it goess straight to the E step after an attack is played and the anti social is a R which triggers after the attack is played which is already in the E step. Which senkyutai says you can discard a momentum to cancel the effects of Rs during the Enhance, Block, and Damage step. So just wanted to make sure that we did come to the right conclusion and that everyone does feel that this is correct.

Well, I think that's it for now. Thanks in advance for taking the time to look through and help.

For Fury of the Ancients, you can trigger its ability and use its multiple even if you have no momentum (you have the possibility of destroying foundations for its multiple cost in addition to the possibility of discarding cards from your momentum to pay its multiple cost).

As for giving it Multiple : 2 in addition to its Multiple : 3, you pay the costs separately as these are two DIFFERENT Enhances (so no 5 destroyed at once ^^ ).

For the Senkyutai question, Antisocial is played as a response to a card being played (all right, it's an attack, but basically it's still a card being played) so I'd say you can't negate Antisocial with Senkyutai's static.

That's my point of view anyway, if I made a mistake somewhere feel free to correct it ^^

Ok, now I've gotten a different view for senkyutai and anti social. I understand what you're saying too and that's what really confused the heck out of us and how it was supposed to be done. so if anyone else could clear this up that would be awesome!

not sure of wording on either of those cards but if its R, After your opponent plays a card and if Senk can't negate before the Enhance phase, i would say the enhance phase does not start until the trigger for Antisocial is over.

Card played

Response?

No, then move to Enhance step.

As far as I'm aware, because Antisocial responds to the card being played it actually happens before the start of the enhance step. So Senkyutai's static text wouldn't apply.

ChaosChild said:

As far as I'm aware, because Antisocial responds to the card being played it actually happens before the start of the enhance step. So Senkyutai's static text wouldn't apply.

correct.

well i'm not sure if there is a section on the rules or whatever but i guess it should be made clear of some sort written down that after a card is played there are steps involved in a certain order like Rs, then Es and so forth on. like i said i don't know if there is a section on it already but i'm just saying. i tried looking it up before i posted it up but i didn't find luck on finding it. but i could've been searching incorrectly too but ne ways thanks for clearing it all up.

its all in the AGR

JChang said:

well i'm not sure if there is a section on the rules or whatever but i guess it should be made clear of some sort written down that after a card is played there are steps involved in a certain order like Rs, then Es and so forth on. like i said i don't know if there is a section on it already but i'm just saying. i tried looking it up before i posted it up but i didn't find luck on finding it. but i could've been searching incorrectly too but ne ways thanks for clearing it all up.

Have you read this document:

UFS Advanced Game Rules

If you have, I'd love to hear what part was unclear.