Erratad or misprinted?: Imperial Strategy

By Sinso, in Twilight Imperium 3rd Edition

Following the FAQ&Errata-Pdf i stumbled over the following text:

"Q: When playing “Political Stability” in a 3- or 4-player game,
can a player that has either the Imperial or Initiative Strategy
as one of his two Strategy Cards use this Action Card?
A: Yes, but it may only be used to keep the Strategy Card held
by that player that is neither the Imperial nor the Initiative
Strategy. If a player holds both the Imperial and the Initiative
Strategy, then he may not use “Political Stability.”

Which indicates to me that "Imperial" officialy has the same condition as "Initiative" to be only taken once every two turns, yet my imperial card does not show such a scentence printed.

Would somebody please be so kind to link me to some official statement which indicates an Errata? Or do i simply posess a missprint, as many are to be found on the web?

And if there was such an Errata, could somebody please put that into the FAQ too?

[Photos]

www.preeminent.org/.../images/strategies/SC8.gif

www.preeminent.org/.../images/strategies/SC1.gif

Everything here is correct, you've just got the wrong end of the stick .

In a normal game, you may not select initiative twice in a row, and may select Imperial as much and as often as you want. This FAQ refers to the action card "Political Stability", which can be played so you keep your strategy card instead of returning it at the end of the round. With this card, you cannot play it if you chose the Initiative or Imperial card.

However, in a 3- or 4-player game you select two strategy cards; this FAQ clarifies that even if one of your cards is initiative or imperial, you can still play Political Stability and use it on your other card.

Does that make sense?

It does.. or actually would, if now my copy of "Political Stability" would actually say i could not play it while haveing "Imperial" or "Initiative".. which i am pretty certain it does not, and which has not been errataed either.

Thoug i'm not at home atm and won't be for a while, so i can't check for sure.

Thank you for the fast expklanation, and i certainly hope i am wrong on the text of the action card.. but i fear i'm not.

Sinso said:

It does.. or actually would, if now my copy of "Political Stability" would actually say i could not play it while haveing "Imperial" or "Initiative".. which i am pretty certain it does not, and which has not been errataed either.

Thoug i'm not at home atm and won't be for a while, so i can't check for sure.

Thank you for the fast expklanation, and i certainly hope i am wrong on the text of the action card.. but i fear i'm not.

The card actually DOES say that :)

"You cannot play this card if you chose the Imperial or the Initiative Strategy card this round."

The FAQ entry was put there to explain how it works in a 3- or 4-player game, where you could pick 2 Strategy Cards; it's simply clarifying that if you picked, say, Imperial and Warfare, you COULD use Political Stability to keep Warfare (even though you chose Imperial also); the purpose of the card is that you cannot use it to KEEP either Initiative or Imperial.

You CAN pick Imperial twice in a row, in theory. With the original Imperial, that rarely ever happens, due to the Initiative/Imperial "clock" that happens.

No, the Imperial card does not have that condition attached to it. The reason the Initiative SC has that condition attached to it, is so that it ensures the speaker position rotates. The reason the card doesn't work on Imperial, is because it would be game-breaking, that would mean in 2 rounds, without counting objectives you would be at 40% towards 10VP.

If people let you take the Imperial Card 2 rounds in a row, go for it! It is the must pick if playing without the expansion.

My memories betrayed me.. you're right, and i'm sorry for the time we wasted on this. sonrojado.gif

[And the "clock" slowly starts to work in our small ti3-community... we'll see how much longer it takes till they worked it all out.]

May I kindly ask as to where the latest 'errata' is located/found at?

Thanks guys.

The FAQ that you can find on the Support Page has the most up-to-date errata.

I'd post a link to it here, but the FFG forums are completely useless when it comes to try and copy-paste anything, and I'm fed up with it where I don't even want to bother trying to figure it out. If you go to the Catalog, you can probably track it down, though.

Catalog->Board Games->Twilight Imperium 3rd Edition->Support