question about abilities in skirmish mode

By obsu, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

i have a few questions about abilities in skirmish mode if anyone can help.

1. in the rule book it says characters can only use one action to attack and that negates darth vader's brutality. does the force choke action count as an attack? if so does the defender roll dice to defend against it, or do they just take damage? or can you force choke an enemy then attack a different enemy?

2. does this rule also apply to fenn signis' abillity assault to perform multiple attacks in an activation?

3. if jyn odan uses hair trigger against a figure to interrupt their attack, does that figure get to continue it's attack after being attacked by jyn odan, or does that figure lose it's attack that round?

1. Remember that cards effects override rules - so with Vader's Brutality, you do indeed get to attack two targets. Force Choke is not an attack, so defenders do not roll dense dice. They just take the damage.

2. Same with 1. His ability allows him to attack twice.

3. After the interrupt, the turn continues as normal- so as long as Jyn doesn't kill the target, he continues the turn.

As a rule of thumb...

Anytime a Card says you can do something, that the rules say you can't, then the card overrules the rules.

So since Brutality or Assault say you can attack twice, you can in fact attack twice.

Yep, same goes for RGC... his CC gives him 3 attacks for 2 actions... and all 3 could go against the same target... add n n elite officer and he can do crazy damag to somone in a round!

What about Vader's command card "Lord of the Sith" -- it allows an additional action per each character Vader defeats this round. Does it allow Vader to use the additional action on either Bruatlity or Choke a second time?

What about Vader's command card "Lord of the Sith" -- it allows an additional action per each character Vader defeats this round. Does it allow Vader to use the additional action on either Bruatlity or Choke a second time?

A figure can only perform each special action only once per activation, so no. You could move - brutality - lord of the sith - force choke, though.

Ya, I've heard people call it useless because he isn't getting extra attacks, but that is not necessarily the case...

A potential Vader round: He brutalizes and kills 2 and foce chokes a third to death. He now receives 3 extra actions. Now he double moves 8 spaces and then drops force lightning on another target, killing him... getting another action, which he uses to telekinetic throw.... I think you see where I'm going here.... Vader can go bonkers in the right situation.

that's pretty cool thanks!

How does Vader get extra actions for killing?

Command Card "Lord of the Sith"

" Use during your activation. For each hostile figure defeated during this activation, you may perform 1 additional action."

Right. Additional actions. But it doesn't override the additional attack rules.

Ok. I'm following now. You are not doing additional attacks, simply using additional actions to use command powers. I may be slow but I eventually get there

It's not trivial, as written - you have to adhere to the strict and specific terminology the game designers are using in the rules. Performing an attack is not the same as attacking necessarily and an effect that does damage is not necessarily an attack either. If you take the cards at precise face value, they won't let you down interpretation-wise...