Wintertime Marauders vs. A Lannister Pays His Debts

By longclaw, in 2. AGoT Rules Discussion

In the case of Marauders vs. ALPHD, assume there is one Lannister character on the board. If that character gets discarded by the Marauders' effect, it cannot be used to pay for the event, right? So then it would be a question of who is the first player as to who gets to trigger his effect first?

isn't this very simular to claim for military challenge and kneeling the character in moribund? (which you can do)

Lars said:

isn't this very simular to claim for military challenge and kneeling the character in moribund? (which you can do)

Yup. When Wintertime Marauders discards a card from play, it enters the moribund state and physically stays on the table until all Responses are played. Since you are just kneeling it, not trying to remove the character from play a second time, you can use a (standing) moribund character to pay the costs of ALPHD "on the way out."

If the cost of ALPHD was "discard a Lannister character" instead of "kneel a Lannister character," you couldn't do it, but as is, you can use a moribund character to pay the cost of ALPHD. So the Marauders are vulnerable to the event in your scenario regardless of who is First Player.

Ok, interesting. Thank you.

I wasn't sure if the Maruaders response might not get to fully resolve before another response could be activated (since we weren't dealing with claim here to "extend" the moribund length).

longclaw said:

I wasn't sure if the Maruaders response might not get to fully resolve before another response could be activated (since we weren't dealing with claim here to "extend" the moribund length).

The Marauder's Response does fully resolve before another Response could be activated. It doesn't matter how a card leaves play - claim, card effect, cost, whatever - it goes into moribund until the end of the window. Which means until all Responses are played. Obviously, if a card is killed for claim, it will be in moribund longer than a card that is discarded by the Marauders, but both cards will go through moribund and leave play at the same time (when the window closes).

BTW: The really astute observer here is going to recognize that even if ALPHD does go first and kill the Marauders, the Marauders will then be in moribund and be able to use their own discard Response "on the way out," too. So in the scenario you describe, it doesn't matter what goes first; because of moribund, both ALPHD and Marauders will get to trigger their respective Responses.