Here's an interesting scenario that came up today in a pick up game...
I was playing Stand Off to boost damage, and my opponent had Torn Hero in his staging area + 1 other card. My question is if my opponent were to commit Torn Hero + his 1 other foundation to cancel the +4 dmg boost granted by Stand Off, would he then be able to commit 2 cards in my staging area?
We didn't rightly know the correct answer, so we simply ruled on the fly that no, committing Torn Hero to negate the dmg of Stand Off would NOT trigger the static text of Torn Hero.
We, of course, are hoping for an official ruling, as we know we might very well be incorrect. Please help. Thank you.