"Cancelling" vs "Negating"

By Smazzurco, in UFS Rules Q & A

Are these interchangable? Some cards use different wording and i was curious if it "matters."

For example: 104.jpg

This card does not NEGATE an E, it cancels the effects. If a card had an E that said something like "This ability cannot be negated" could it still be "cancelled"?

This sounds trivial but to negate something would mean to go back to the "before it happened" state, where as to cancel could imply that it never happens.


I think im reading into it too much and they are interchangeable but just want a clarification. Im trying really hard to break something in this game before worlds. If the Sep SotG does not have a banning due to me then i have failed as a deckbuilder, lol.

They are interchangeable.

I will endevour to try to remember to clarify that in the next AGR's glossary.

Thanks for the clarification. It kind of felt like a stupid question but i guess if the answer was something different that wouldn't be the case.

And remember children, there are no stupid questions, just stupid people.