If i attempt to R with Tag Along, but fail the control check, do i still have to remove it from the game?
Tag Along
i asked a similar question a while ago, and the answer, in short, is yes.
You must pay a cost wether or not you fail the CC. If you used the R on Kung Fu Training you still have to commit 2 foundations, etc.
My question was in regard to anti k, in which if you fail the CC you still must place a card into your card pool face down.
**stamps** for Smazzy
I just want to throw in that this rule both surprises and confuses me. I always thought if you fail a CC you "stop right there' and the card goes from the transitional zone to your graveyard.
If this is the way the game was meant to be played than so be it, and im fine with that. But just at first look It would seem different to me.
Better to know the rules now than to be surprised with them in a tourney lol. (See: DFOTY)
Smazzurco said:
I just want to throw in that this rule both surprises and confuses me. I always thought if you fail a CC you "stop right there' and the card goes from the transitional zone to your graveyard.
If this is the way the game was meant to be played than so be it, and im fine with that. But just at first look It would seem different to me.
Better to know the rules now than to be surprised with them in a tourney lol. (See: DFOTY)
Costs are an additional risk associated with playing a card or an ability.
Whether or not the card is successful, for attempting to play the card, you must pay the cost. This is the way it's always been. That's why cards like Infiltrating are as risky as they are.
ya im a fairly new player (didnt play any block 2) so cards like that i have never even really seen.
Im not argueing the fact or anything, just throwing out that for whatever reason, that was not a rule that was clear to me. is it mentioned in the "starter rules"?
I by know means am saying it should change, just sort of throwing out (for mods as well as players) that IMO this may be one of the rules that is misplayed frequently.
Smazzurco said:
ya im a fairly new player (didnt play any block 2) so cards like that i have never even really seen.
Im not argueing the fact or anything, just throwing out that for whatever reason, that was not a rule that was clear to me. is it mentioned in the "starter rules"?
I by know means am saying it should change, just sort of throwing out (for mods as well as players) that IMO this may be one of the rules that is misplayed frequently.
The starter rules can by no means cover every instance of the game. In a perfect world, they would. In a perfect world, the AGR would be printed in a mini-booklet, akin to a V:TES or M:tG rules book. Sadly at this time the costs of such a booklet are prohibative. I cross my fingers and hope that we'll see something like it in the future.
On a slight detour form this topic lets say they pass the CC on that action but they can not pay the cost. What happens to it, dose it even enter the card pool, or dose it just get discarded like failing any other card?
If they can't pay the additional cost they can't even attempt to play the card in the first place.
Cascade said:
If they can't pay the additional cost they can't even attempt to play the card in the first place.
True but say I have 2 ready foundations and I play Kung-Fu and I need a 5. I check a 3 commit my only 2 ready foundations. Now I can't pay the cost of Kung-Fu.
I'm pretty sure if you could pay the cost before the CC is made and then make the CC and can't pay the cost for some reason then it stays in the card pool (unless it removes itself like Kung-Fu does) and nothing happens. That would be my guess.
If you fail the CC, but for whatever reason (EG your FREX) can't pay the additional costs, it fails and is discarded. Unless part of the cost was to do something weird with the card like RFG it or feed it to your little sister, in which case you do that instead, but it's still failed.
aslum said:
If you fail the CC, but for whatever reason (EG your FREX) can't pay the additional costs, it fails and is discarded. Unless part of the cost was to do something weird with the card like RFG it or feed it to your little sister, in which case you do that instead, but it's still failed.
**stamp**
aslum said:
or feed it to your little sister
For the love of all that is holy, please never make this a cost!
And the same holds true with Control Checks as well? i.e. E (5+) action card?
babelfish666 said:
And the same holds true with Control Checks as well? i.e. E (5+) action card?
I am not sure i understand your question. But if you mean if you play an action card with difficuly 5 and it has "E (4+): blah blah" then even if you fail the CC to pass the card (@5) then i think you would still make a CC against 4 (although it would do nothing).
Smazzurco said:
babelfish666 said:
And the same holds true with Control Checks as well? i.e. E (5+) action card?
I am not sure i understand your question. But if you mean if you play an action card with difficuly 5 and it has "E (4+): blah blah" then even if you fail the CC to pass the card (@5) then i think you would still make a CC against 4 (although it would do nothing).
From the way it sounds yes. However a specific card would be better to issue an actual ruling against.
Antigoth said:
Smazzurco said:
babelfish666 said:
And the same holds true with Control Checks as well? i.e. E (5+) action card?
I am not sure i understand your question. But if you mean if you play an action card with difficuly 5 and it has "E (4+): blah blah" then even if you fail the CC to pass the card (@5) then i think you would still make a CC against 4 (although it would do nothing).
From the way it sounds yes. However a specific card would be better to issue an actual ruling against.
Hunger for souls
if you fail the CC to play it as an action then you still make a CC against 4+ for the "effect".
In this case the effect would not resolve though because you failed the CC to play the card.
So you "announce" HFS.
Card leaves hand and goes to transitional zone.
You make your first CC, check a 1, opt to not commit foundations, and fail.
You make a check against (4+) for the "cost" of the card.
Since you failed your CC the card goes to your discard pile and the effect never resolves.
?????
Profit
and Mr. Mazzurco aquires yet another stamp.
JDub said:
Cascade said:
If they can't pay the additional cost they can't even attempt to play the card in the first place.
True but say I have 2 ready foundations and I play Kung-Fu and I need a 5. I check a 3 commit my only 2 ready foundations. Now I can't pay the cost of Kung-Fu.
I'm pretty sure if you could pay the cost before the CC is made and then make the CC and can't pay the cost for some reason then it stays in the card pool (unless it removes itself like Kung-Fu does) and nothing happens. That would be my guess.
Sorry. I couldn't find a direct response to this.
If you PASS the CC, but can NO LONGER pay the costs (either because passing the CC committed foundations that would have been required for the cost, or because various opponent shenanigan responses somehow prevent you from paying the cost) what happens?
Does the card sit in the card pool and have no effect?
Thanks!
EDIT: I think I found the answer in the AGR:
"8.1.4 A card is considered played after it has been declared and any costs paid, but before its effect resolves."
This implies that if costs are not paid, then the card is not played. If it's not played, then it is discarded. Yes/no?
ARMed_PIrate said:
JDub said:
Cascade said:
If they can't pay the additional cost they can't even attempt to play the card in the first place.
True but say I have 2 ready foundations and I play Kung-Fu and I need a 5. I check a 3 commit my only 2 ready foundations. Now I can't pay the cost of Kung-Fu.
I'm pretty sure if you could pay the cost before the CC is made and then make the CC and can't pay the cost for some reason then it stays in the card pool (unless it removes itself like Kung-Fu does) and nothing happens. That would be my guess.
Sorry. I couldn't find a direct response to this.
If you PASS the CC, but can NO LONGER pay the costs (either because passing the CC committed foundations that would have been required for the cost, or because various opponent shenanigan responses somehow prevent you from paying the cost) what happens?
Does the card sit in the card pool and have no effect?
Thanks!
EDIT: I think I found the answer in the AGR:
"8.1.4 A card is considered played after it has been declared and any costs paid, but before its effect resolves."
This implies that if costs are not paid, then the card is not played. If it's not played, then it is discarded. Yes/no?
Yes, it is discarded if you cannot play the card.
4.8.3 If you fail to play a card successfully, it leaves this [Transitional] zone and goes to the discard pile.
yeah and it never ENTERS the card pool until the CC is passed AND costs are paid.
So if it was say KFT and you had to commit your last 2 foundations to pass the CC, then it never hits your card pool