*Spoilers* Desperate Hour finale questions

By usgrandprix, in Imperial Assault Campaign

Hi. A few questions for those Imperials who have run Desperate Hour:

**SPOILER ALERT**

1. Does the Imperial Player deploy the AT-ST that the rebels control? By this I mean does the Imp choose where to place it given the placement parameters. Since the base is big there are a lot of options for that one point. It says deploy first and then it says the Rebels control it so I'm thinking the Imp player places it.

2. If the AT-ST the Rebels are controlling is defeated the deployment card goes into the Imperial player's hand by rule. If the Imperial player deploys it is the rule that the rebels control it still in effect?

Thanks.

1. Yes, you choose where and how to deploy the Rebel AT-ST, as long as one of the spaces is on the Yellow point. I know I'll be deploying it as far from the Warehouse as possible.

2. Yes, you do get the AT-ST in your hand, and can deploy it as an Imperial figure under your control.

Thanks. I'm with you on the AT-ST placement.

As for redeploying the AT-ST after it is first defeated I can see an argument that the rule that the rebels control it never goes away but I'll have to read it again closely.

When the AT-ST is deployed in this mission, the mission rules clearly state the AT-ST is a Rebel Ally. As such, if the AT-ST is defeated, the deployment card would not go back to the Imperial player's hand for redeployment since it is not an Imperial Figure during this mission.

"Defeated", RRG, Page 10:

During a campaign, when the last Imperial figure in a nonunique group is defeated, the Deployment card is returned to the Imperial player’s hand and can be optionally deployed later in the mission.

Edited by Fizz

I think it's still defined as an Imperial figure though. Nothing says it's not and it is in the Imperial player's Reserved Group.

"During a campaign, all figures belonging to the Imperial player
are Imperial figures. This includes all Deployment cards with an
[imp] or [hunter?] icon."
Thematically they took control of the Imp figure. The question is do they control the next AT-ST that comes along?
Edit: Does it call it an ally? I'm away from book. If so this is what I'm looking for:
"When an ally is defeated, it is removed from the map and
cannot be redeployed for the remainder of the mission."
Edited by usgrandprix

It IS controlled as a Rebel ally. My bad.

That means it does not go back to hand, and you cannot redeploy it. I think that threat would be much better spent on some Royal Guards or as part of the deployment for Vader/RGC (if you got their villain cards).

Edited by ThatJakeGuy

Ally it is.

Yeah I'm thinking getting next to the AT-ST and using stunning attacks is good. Since it only gets one action it will have to get rid of the stun on one hero's turn. And if you are adjacent it will have to move on another hero's turn since it can't target adjacent (that is if they want to attack with their new toy).

The rule reference you are looking for is under "Allies", RRG, Page 4:

When an ally is defeated, it is removed from the map and cannot be redeployed for the remainder of the mission.

You have to remember that the reserved group is there to accomplish two things:

1) Provide specific models for event triggers.

2) Prevent the Imperial player from adding those models to the open group, so the event triggers always have the required models available.

If you look at all the missions, you'll notice all the reserved groups have an associated mission trigger.

Fizz I got that.

Oh awesome. You said you were away from your book so i was trying to help you out. :D

All good. Thanks a bunch for the help.