Breaking Point Mission, need help ASAP

By Goreshde, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

In the breaking point mission the Elite Royal guard gets 1 action after each rebel hero.

His brutality is a special action.

The rules say you must have an activation to use a special action ("Each figure can preform a special action once per activiation" implies you need an activation). They do not limit how many times you can do one per round, just once per activation.

Can he not do brutality because he has 0 activations and only actions?

Can he do brutality every action because he is not limited to doing it just once per activation?

Edited by Goreshde

"Actions", RRG, Page 3:

A figure can perform each special action only once per activation.

"Special situations regarding attacks" RRG, Page 6:

Unlike heroes, a figure that has a Deployment card can use only one of its actions to attack per activation. This includes using special actions that involve performing one or more attacks (such as the Nexu’s “Pounce” or Darth Vader’s
“Brutality”).

Thanks for the fast response but that does not help for this scenario.

The Royal Guard (in this scenario) gets 1 action after every hero activation.

Can he not do brutality because he has 0 activations and only actions?

Can he do brutality every action because he is not limited to doing it just once per activation?

Rules as written make it sound like he can never do brutality, but I want to make sure before we proceed.

Edited by Goreshde

Reading it now. Gimme a minute or two to process.

Remember that Mission Rules override both Card rules and the RRG.

My quick answer is that because the mission merely states "1 action", and that RGC doesn't activate as normal, then he is free to spend that action in whatever way the Imperial player sees fit.

He activates every time, so he can brutality every time.

Which is bad news for those crates.

Does that mean Jynn can shoot him with quick draw?

The more I read this, the more I can see this both ways. I really really see it both ways.

The key here is: "Is the RGC *activating* each time, or is he just getting an action?"

Follow my link below, this requires clarification.

Edited by Fizz

It also brings up the question: Does bleed affect him in this scenario? As he does not activate as normal and bleed only affects figures during their activation.

I always took "...once per activation" as in any time during any activation in the activation phase, not just during the figure with the abilities activation - they would still need to somehow gain an action, which is what the mission rules is granting him.

So at the end of one hero's activation, RGC can use Brutality during this activation.

and at the end of another player's activation, RGC can use Brutality again, since it is on a different activation.

That's just how I interpret it.

So, based on our consensus: The RGC would be "Activating", but instead of gaining two actions once per round, he "activates" after each hero resolves an activation and only gains 1 action.

Just for additional clarification, this would also mean that the Imperial player could not activate him normally in the round sequence and gain two actions.

Activation sequence would be:

1) Rebel Activation

2) RGC single action

3) Imperial Activation

4) Repeat until all figures have activated.

So, based on our consensus: The RGC would be "Activating", but instead of gaining two actions once per round, he "activates" after each hero resolves an activation and only gains 1 action.

Just for additional clarification, this would also mean that the Imperial player could not activate him normally in the round sequence and gain two actions.

Activation sequence would be:

1) Rebel Activation

2) RGC single action

3) Imperial Activation

4) Repeat until all figures have activated.

That's how our group will play it until we are told otherwise.