Question about (double) movement

By El_Tonio, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

Lets say a figure has a speed of 4 and wants to take a double move action. If the first move action would cause it to end its turn on a square with another figure, would it still get to move 4 and 4 (8 total), or would it have to move 3 (to end it's first action on a square without another figure) and then 4 (7 total)? I've found this comes up quite a bit with all figures, especially with large ones.

the move action only grants you movement points equal to your speed you don't actually move during the action

you spend movement points to move the figure (which you can do at any point during it's activation)

so a figure with a speed of 4 that does nothing other than use both of it's actions on the move action would have 8 movement points and still be in the square it started it's activation in

the same figure could also use its first action to use the move action to gain 4 movement points spend 3 to move in front of another figure (will have 1 movement point remaining) then use its second action on the move action gaining 4 movement points (bringing the total to 5 movement points) and then spend them to carry on moving

Well put... Thanks!