Gildor Inglorion Question

By CookieWizard, in Rules questions & answers

When playing the Black Riders campaign, is it possible to have the ally and the boon versions of Gildor Inglorion in play at the same time?

The unique rule on page 8 of the rulebook only affects cards played by players. So if I were to play my ally copy of Gildor, and then the boon version is then revealed off the top of the deck, both copies are then legally in play.

Or is there a rule I'm overlooking that can prevent this weirdness?

You can't have both in play at once. The rules apply to all "unique hero, ally, attachment, and event cards that might enter play." Even though he is an objective, he still counts as an ally. The Gildor boon would just be discarded.

You can't have both in play at once. The rules apply to all "unique hero, ally, attachment, and event cards that might enter play." Even though he is an objective, he still counts as an ally. The Gildor boon would just be discarded.

Okay so the Gildor boon does follow the "any attempt to do so (be played) will fail to the extent that the card attempting to enter play remains in its current location (hand, deck or discard pile) and does not enter play."I'm pretty sure then it remains in the encounter deck rather than being discarded.

In this situation, would it retain its current location as the top card of the encounter deck (creating some stupid loop shenanigans)?

I was worried you'd reference that rule, because I don't have a great answer. You could argue that the card isn't "being played" because it's an encounter card that is "being revealed". I would definitely just discard it instead of breaking the system, but feel free to email Caleb if you want a more official answer.

EDIT: This question has in fact come up before and Gildor is discarded. There isn't discussion of that particular rule, but it is an official answer: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/13683412#13683412

Edited by Teamjimby

Consider that you draw the card from the encounter when you reveal it, so Gildor has left the encounter deck and couldn't return on top of it if there is another Gildor already.

Actually everything is easier. Boon version is called "Gildor Inglori a n" therefor its name is different from "Gildor Inglorion".

Edited by DarkPhoenix

Actually everything is easier. Boon version is called "Gildor Inglori a n" therefor its name is different from "Gildor Inglorion".

Nice catch... Bad mistake by FFG...

Actually everything is easier. Boon version is called "Gildor Inglori a n" therefor its name is different from "Gildor Inglorion".

Both versions (boon and ally) I own are both "Inglorion." Its weird.

Good to know they fixed it.