Call me noob or whatever, but Beast's effect reads:
" Furious Bellow : If you discard this card from your Friend Area, choose and discard one Dark/Heartless Card in play of level 4 or below."
*Considering I have a Beast Level 3 (L&D), +8 / 0*...
I took this as, you may discard Beast and at the same time, discard a Dark/Heartless in the field level 4 or below. But playing a tournament today at my distributor's place, I was told that Beast would need to be discarded through challenge or battle. This would mean being able to use his +8 support value and his effect of discarding a Dark/Heartless in play. I'm sorry and no offense to the players that I play with, but this seems a tad bit "broken" to me. Though after being told that, I did start to think and re-read Beast's effect. Now, I personally believe that you may only discard a card from friend area when the words " You may discard this card from your Friend Area..." is displayed in the card's text, so this would apply to cards like "Merlin" and "Ariel" but not with "Piglet" because it states "If this card is discarded from your Friend Area". Now, Beast's text doesn't have the same text as "Merlin" and "Ariel" so I began to think, "What else can you do?". I don't mean disrespect to the translators of this card... don't get the wrong idea. I fell in love with this KH Card Game and I love Fantasy Flight. But I would really like it if I got a bit of help from this. And yes, I did search through the Rules Section, unfortunately, I'm still clueless.
I still believe that you need to discard Beast, but as soon as someone tells me how to actually use it, I'll be super happy.
Thanks,
Keith