Under Siege - Victory Conditions

By Compel, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

With Version 1.01 of the FAQs came out, Fantasy Flight answered the question about the victory conditions on Round 8.

Q: In “Under Siege,” if the Imperials secure the 4th capture

point at the end of Round 8, which “End of Mission” condition
triggers, the end of Round 8 or the Imperial player securing
4 capture points?
A: Since they happen at the same time, the Imperial player
decides (see “Conflicts in a Campaign” in the Rules
Reference Guide).

However, I'm still personally unsure about the victory conditions relating to Round 6.
So, the relevant rules
" At the end of each round , if an Imperial figure occupies a tile with a capture site and there are no healthy Rebel figures on that tile, that site is secured by the Imperial player and claims its token."
So, the End of Round Effects happen in stage 4 ( out of 5 ) in the Campaign Status Phase (page 23).
"End of Round Effects: If there are any abilities or mission rules triggered at the end of this game round, players resolve them at this time."
Then, finally, we have the victory conditions.
"If the capture points were secured before the end of Round 6 , place Story MIssion card "Fly Solo" into play.
So, the question. When is before the end of Round 6 . Is it before the End of Round Effects stage? During it? (in which case, the FAQ rule would likely apply), OR, is it after the Advance Round Dial stage in the Status Phase?
What do you think?
Edited by Compel

A single round consists of completing both the activation and status phases. Before the end of round 6 is any time before the activation phase of round 7.

I may not be understanding the question here, but the end of round effects happen in the aptly named Step 4: End of Round Effects of the status phase. Step 5 is Advance Round Dial and begin a new activation phase. Based on the mission rules, capturing happens during Step 4, as does the final check for victory conditions, with the Imperial players determining the order each happens during Step 4.

Is the confusion based on timing? IE: Are you asking what happens if the Imperial player captures the 4th point at the end of round 6, can he/she claim the victory condition for round 6?

If so, the answer is: Yes.

Is the confusion based on timing? IE: Are you asking what happens if the Imperial player captures the 4th point at the end of round 6, can he/she claim the victory condition for round 6?

If so, the answer is: Yes.

In a word, yes, that's what I'm asking.

The thing that made me confused, in comparison to the End of Round 8 FAQ answer, the rules specify " Before the End of Round 6." Which made me uncertain about whether that meant before Step 4: End of Round Effects or not.

Understood. Ever so technically, the round actually ends in Step 5 when you turn the dial to the next round number, but you process all the end of round effects one step before that.

Step 5 is the STOP command that ends the logic, whereas the processing and condition checks actually happen in Step 4.

Edited by Fizz

Cheers! I didn't want to feel like I might denying the rebels of a hard fought... Well, draw, potentially.

I'll find out on Friday!

LoL, I just CAN'T get a Rebel win in this game. This time I thought they had it and up until round 6 it looked really good. Round 7 and 8 however was a complete clobber fest with 1 withdrawn and 2 wounded heros. In the end the Empire managed to claim 2 tiles at the end of round 8 and since the Empire decides the condition tie they win :P