Question about spending Surge on the same ability that appears on different cards

By El_Tonio, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

Let's say I put "Imperial Industry" reward card on a set of gray Stormtroopers.

Stormtrooper cards lets me spend a surge to do +1 damage.

Imperial Industry lets me spend a surge do do +1 damage.

Would this be considered triggering the same surge ability twice, or does it count as two separate abilities since they are obtained from different sources?

Is it any different if I put II on a set of red Stormtroopers which can spend a surge to do +2 damage (+2 damage clearly seems like a different ability than +1 damage, or does the fact that both are damage make them the same)?

Again, feels like both of these should be ok to me, but I wanted to see what other folks think. Thanks!

I believe different sources can both trigger, and similar abilities with different values stack.

Of course, you'd need to pay for each of them separately.

This would be considered two different sources, treat it just like you had the ability listed on the card twice. Meaning you could spend up to two surges to power each ability a maximum of one time for an additive effect.

Edited by Fizz

It is even possible to have the same surge ability twice on the same weapon/character

for example Surge 1: +1 damage

Surge 1: +1 damage

In this instance, if you have 2 or more surges, you can choose to spend your surges to increase your damage by 2, spend only one and recover 1 strain (if a hero) etc...

If it's only listed once on ONE card, then you cannot spend multiple surges to activate it again.. unless you have a card that allows you to do so (IG-88 deck anyone?)

Can you spend multiple surges to remove multiple strain from your unit.

Or is this also suspect to the limit once per dice roll clause.

Since the surge would have to be used during an attack, I'd imagine it falls under the "once per source unless a card specifies otherwise."

Each surge may only be spent once, and each surge powered ability may only be triggered once.

"Surges", RRG, Page 24:

During a campaign, a hero performing an attack may spend 1 (surge) to recover 1 (strain).

Each (surge) ability can be triggered only once per attack.

Edited by Fizz

Each surge may only be spent once, and each surge powered ability may only be triggered once.

"Surges", RRG, Page 24:

During a campaign, a hero performing an attack may spend 1 (surge) to recover 1 (strain).

Each (surge) ability can be triggered only once per attack.

I guess what I was asking is using a surge to remove a strain a surge powered ability, or does that refer to just the ones on the deployment card/upgrades?

Yeah, that has to be done as part of an attack. Spending surges as part of an attack is limited to once per source.

The strain recovery option is just an "unlisted" ability of all "heroes". As such, like other abilities, you can only use it once per trigger.