Small Target with multiple shadow cards

By Raven1015, in Rules questions & answers

I've seen this asked before, but don't think it was ever answered definitely. If you use Small Target against an enemy with multiple shadow cards, how do you resolve the situation given that Small Target specifies "shadow card" singular? Do you:

A) choose one of the shadow cards to check for Small Target

B) check all shadow cards and the effect only triggers if all shadow cards have no effect

I'm inclined towards the latter.

It's worth sending in, I think. The card is written such that there is a clear assumption of the enemy having only 1 shadow card. "...reveal the attacking enemy's shadow card."

I have no good reason to lean one way or the other from a rules standpoint. On the one hand, checking all of the shadow cards would do more than the card instructs you to do, which is generally not the way to go. It would also give you more intel about the shadow cards which could inform a crucial decision once it comes time to resolve the effets (do I cancel this first shadow effect and risk the 2nd card being worse? Or do I save Hasty Stroke for that 2nd mystery card?)

But on the other hand, the card does not give you a clear target if there are multiple shadow cards, and can't be resolved unless you add a layer of player choice to it. That's also not something you generally want to do, although I suppose there are plenty of examples of player choice in the game when it's not specifically written on the card (simultaneous effect timing, choosing a "highest threat cost" hero to be the target of a treachery card when multiple heroes tie for it, etc).

So having typed all that out, I would choose (a) as the way to resolve this more consistently with how I generally interpret rules. But then I would also ask Caleb :)

Edited by GrandSpleen

Mmm, my understanding .. you play small target after declaring your hobbit as a defender. After that you reveal one shadow card. if this shadow card has no effect, attack the second enemy with the enemy.

Small Target does not say, that you have to reveal all cards, just one. So you can't use small target if the enemy has no shadow card. This is the way i play small target.

Let me post to look at my signature, then I'll edit when I'll find it. But I'm sure it was already asked.

EDIT: nothing on my faq, but it's in my inbox :

When playing small target, and the enemies has 2 shadow cards, I reveal one that is without effect. I now resolve the attack against another engaged enemies, but his second shadow effect is Sleeping Sentry. Do I have to discard all my exhausted character, including the hobbit who was defending? Did the attack still resolves on the other enemies or is it now undefended?

You must resolve each shadow card dealt to the attacking enemy for that attack. In the situation you described, your hobbit defender will be discarded, but the attack will be resolved against another enemy engaged with you.

Yeah... didn't update the faq with the tons of Q&A I had for the french forum... got a lot more like this...

Edited by alogos

(a) for the win!