Incapacitated and 'non-actions'

By drleets, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

Just played the story mission (Drawn In) where rebel characters can be incapacitated. To clarify, can incapacitated heroes use their abilities that don't require stress?

For instance, the rebels used used Fenn's "tactical movement" whilst he was incapacitated. Although this appeared to be technically possible according to our reading of the rules, it did not seem to be in the spirit of an incapacitated figure.

Thanks for clarifying especially if we missed something documented.

This is an interesting question.

First the mission rules state:

"When a hero is withdrawn, he is incapacitated instead. When activating, he receives only 1 action and can only use that action to perform a move."

Now we also need to look up incapacitated in the RRG.

The relevant rule for this question is the last bullet.

"The figure cannot suffer damage or be targeted or affected by attacks, abilities, or any game effect except as specified by the mission's rules."

I would rule against using Tactical Movement since an incapacitated figure can't be targeted by any attacks, abilities, or game effects.

But if Fenn is incapacitated can he use his tactical movement on another figure?

I thought it meant that he can only move, nothing else, so the rebels still can win the scenario with one guy kicking.

Thanks Stub for the first half.

I agree with your interpretation - Fenn can't target an incapacitated figure.

Now the second half (derroehre) - can Fenn use it if he is incapacitated?

In our mission, Fenn and Diala were both incapacitated, with Fenn boosting himself and Diala on alternative activations.

so, it turned out our next mission will be drawn in, so this thread got a whole lot more interesting for me.

To get this right (please correct me): an incapacitated character

- has only 1 action, which he can only use to move.

- can basically do anything that isn't an action and as long as the strain cost doesn't exceed his endurance ??

- Strain-Hopping (until Strain=Endurance) [somebody at the table called it hopping and it stuck]

- An incapacitated Diala can still use her force throw, but not on an incapacitated figure?

- Fenn can use his tactical movement if hes incapacitated, but not on an incapacitated figure?

- Mak can still use his disengage

- Gharkan can use his "give ally 1 defense symbol" abiltiy

most of these make no sense to me, but I see no reason in the rulebook against this.

One could easily argue that card abilities are "game effects" and as such, the rebel would be prohibited from using them as they may not be targeted or affected by them.

"Targeted" has implicit source/destination syntax (where "targeted" means destination). Whereas "affected" can imply either source or destination.

From the way I read Incapacitated and this particular mission, I believe the intention of the rule is to allow rebel to crawl their way out instead of just being flat out eliminated from the board. Limiting the rebel to merely a single move action. I suggest getting some official clarification on this mission from the design team.

Edited by Fizz

Agreed. That's the way I see it. it would make no sense to leave the Star Destroyer when some of your buddies are still lying on the floor -> hence special rules.

I suggest getting some official clarification on this mission from the design team.

How to? it seems they don't post here that often.

Edited by derroehre

Thanks Fizz, was hoping you would weigh in.

I've contacted the team:

------MESSAGE BELOW------

Love the game. Have a query from the community forums our collective wisdom has been unable to solve.

Essentially, it is:
Do incapacitated heroes retain their upgrades and abilities that do not require actions/stress/etc?
My original query regarded Fenn's use of tactical movement [both when he is incapacitated and (on incapacitated heroes - ANSWERED)]. However, this would also apply to other upgrades (movement speed, garkan's ability to give defence bonuses, etc.)
Should all incapacitated heroes ability/equipment cards be depleted? (This would seem thematic) Or do their effects persist?
Thanks.

Thanks Fizz, was hoping you would weigh in.

Awwwwwwwww! That put a huge smile on my face today! I'm grinning like a big idiot!

I too submitted a request (though I didn't think about including my thanks and love for the game, need to do that next time.) and will post the answer as well.

Should all incapacitated heroes ability/equipment cards be depleted?

If I get no answer until we play again I will use this. Simply makes the most sense.

If Diala is still alive enough to be throwing stormtroopers against walls with her force throw I think those stormtroopers would still target her.

Edited by derroehre

Hi All,

----- Official answer from Fantasy Flight Games -----

Hey REDACTED,

Depleted in the sense that they can no longer be used, yes, but I wouldn’t frame it quite that way since you can’t do the same thing to hero abilities. Basically, abilities cannot be used by or on incapacitated heroes.

Thanks,
Justin Kemppainen
Assistant Board Game Manager
Fantasy Flight Games

got the same answer (what a shocking surprise)

Nah, a hero can’t use their abilities when incapacitated. They pretty much can’t do anything that isn’t listed in the mission itself or is a standard rule, so no abilities of any kind (abilities defined via the RRG as “special effects that can be performed above and beyond the standard rules of the game”).

The more products I buy from ffg the more I like them ;)

Added to FAQ.

Glad my interpretation was in the realm of correctitude on this one.

Hi folks, sorry to reanimate this topic but I have a question, which fits quite neatly.

So we've seen that incapacitated heroes can neither use nor be targeted by abilities.

But what about strain for movement. Obviously they won't be able to recover that, but four points of strain movement plus the incapacitated movement equals about 3 move actions in two rounds.

May heroes use strain to move further when incapacitated.

A swift answer would be appreciated (and one giving rules reference even more so as I have a player who likes to STICK to the rules even if it means he has to make some up).

Thanks Folly

Hi folks, sorry to reanimate this topic but I have a question, which fits quite neatly.

So we've seen that incapacitated heroes can neither use nor be targeted by abilities.

But what about strain for movement. Obviously they won't be able to recover that, but four points of strain movement plus the incapacitated movement equals about 3 move actions in two rounds.

May heroes use strain to move further when incapacitated.

A swift answer would be appreciated (and one giving rules reference even more so as I have a player who likes to STICK to the rules even if it means he has to make some up).

Thanks Folly

I would rule that spending strain for movement points is an ability. There's no explicit rules reference but it doesn't make sense for it not to be.

Hi folks, sorry to reanimate this topic but I have a question, which fits quite neatly.

So we've seen that incapacitated heroes can neither use nor be targeted by abilities.

But what about strain for movement. Obviously they won't be able to recover that, but four points of strain movement plus the incapacitated movement equals about 3 move actions in two rounds.

May heroes use strain to move further when incapacitated.

A swift answer would be appreciated (and one giving rules reference even more so as I have a player who likes to STICK to the rules even if it means he has to make some up).

Thanks Folly

I would rule that spending strain for movement points is an ability. There's no explicit rules reference but it doesn't make sense for it not to be.

I'd say the same but tell my friend David ;-). Thanks.. I think I'll ask the designers...

Actually, if you look at the original question, you'll see that this ruling includes strain-based movement.

(Answer: No, an incapacitated hero may not spend strain to gain movement points).