Two Questions about Bunkers

By panzerjaeger, in Tide of Iron

1. Are bunkers vunerable to concussive fire? I don't see anything in the rules about it, but it seems like that would be.

2. Can you assault a bunker (which is lvl 2) from a beach hex (which is lvl 0), and assuming that you can, if you win the assault are you allowed to move into the bunker in the same turn as your sucessful assault.

I'm thinking the answer to the first part of question 2 is "yes," and the answer to the second part of question 2 is "no," but I wanted some clarification. Thanks.

1. I do not think bunkers triggers the +3 bonus.

2. Nope - you can not assault up two levels.

Hefsgaard said:

1. I do not think bunkers triggers the +3 bonus.

2. Nope - you can not assault up two levels.

I agree with Hefsgaard. The rulebook (p. 40) says:

" Concussive Firepower : When a tank attacks a squad located in a building hex or pillbox , the tank receives +3 firepower and +3 range".

In my opinion it makes perfect sense, because bunkers are fortified constructions, built to withstand that kind of firepower. Other buildings (regular houses, for example) are definitely not, and thats why that kind of attacks get the +3.

In the case of question two, it does not make sense that you could assault up two levels simply because units can not make that kind of movement.

Maybe I should have clarified that I was talking about when you have a the "scaling cliffs" op card, which allows movement up from lvl 0 to lvl 2. I'm sorry I was taking this for granted since all the official scenarios that have bunkers give the allies scaling cliffs. So if are able to move from lvl 0 to lvl2, does that mean you can assault as well...and I was really asking specifically about a bunker hex. Thanks again for your input, and maybe the answer is still no, but I want to clarify about the using the scaling cliffs op card.

As I remember, the card says that you can not use it to assault.

Oops! Okay that definitely answers the second part of my original question. You cannot move into the bunker hex, but what about simply moving adjacent to the bunker on lvl 0, launching an assault, but not actually ever moving up the hill afterward. Is that legal? Or is it implied that you used the 3 mp cliff scaling ability to launch the assault regardless whether you decide to take the hex afterward or not? Sorry to belabor this point, but I wanted clarity. Thanks.

I think that assaulting a bunker from the beach up 2 levels, simply is not allowed.

panzerjaeger said:

You cannot move into the bunker hex, but what about simply moving adjacent to the bunker on lvl 0, launching an assault, but not actually ever moving up the hill afterward.

p.33 "Assault attacks represent brutal combat at close quarters...." Looks like you have overlooked this piece of information and don't understand the basic meaning of the word as used in ToI. Combat at close quarters could be rephrased as hand to hand combat.

Okay...I'll yeild. Yeah, I get the part about close quarters, but since you don't actually move into the hex and use movements points and figure out what type of terrain you are assaulting and factor in the terrain cost I thought it might be worth a shot, but if that is the consensus I'll agree. Thanks for the help guys.