Ghostwood Wand query

By The Hunter, in Talisman Rules Questions

Had a game where I had this item and a friend discarded a spirit trophy.

I drew a spell but my friend believes I could not gain a spell because the spirit is no longer a spirit but was a trophy.

Is my friend right?

If so, how can one know when one can gain a spell when a spirit card is sent to the discard pile?

(Perhaps if the Priest or a character with the Cross destroys the spirit for example)

Your friend is dead wrong. It may well be a trophy but it is still a Spirit, that doesn't change!

"When a character kills an Enemy, he may take it as a trophy." - this doesn't mean it changes the status of an Enemy...

Edited by talismanamsilat

Thought so.

Many thanks.

Wording on the Object is actually:

"Whenever a Spirit is placed in the discard pile, you may gain 1 Spell, if your Craft allows."

Doesn't even have to be a trophy, Priest could zap Spirits with his ability and gain 2 Spells if he had the Ghostwood Wand, Destruction Spell would work, Obliterate could net more than one Spell, etc.

You have to be constantly looking at the discard pile while having the Ghostwood Wand.

You cannot even leave to have a wee. :lol:

You cannot even leave to have a wee. :lol:

That leaves me out.