Deep Realms query

By The Hunter, in Talisman Rules Questions

Just got the Deep Realms but have a couple of queries:

When encountering the Old Sewer or Catacombs, you draw 3 Tunnel Cards.

Do you only encounter 1 card each turn, or encounter 1 after the other on the same turn?

I get the feeling it's 1 per turn due to the wording on the spaces.

Would Gold be classed as tokens (in case a character with Gold got killed in either realm)?

Hello,

1/ You encounter only one card each turn, and only if you choose to press on.

2/ I don't think Gold counts as token. They are listed as "Gold Coins" in the list of all components, where other objects are specifically listed as tokens (fate tokens, dragon tokens...)

Many thanks.

Thought this would be the case.

Had another thought.

When encountering Tunnel cards on your stack, what happens if they don't get discarded/resolved (failing to defeat an enemy or not taking an object)?

Do they stay on the player's stack, or placed on the Old Sewers/Catacombs space?

The rules for Deap Realms don't mention this case, so I think the general rule applies : the card is placed on the space. Those card must be encountered after the last Tunnel Card in the player's stack is encountered before ha can end his turn.

The rules for Deap Realms don't mention this case, so I think the general rule applies : the card is placed on the space. Those card must be encountered after the last Tunnel Card in the player's stack is encountered before ha can end his turn.

I'm not 100% sure, but I'm of a different opinion. I believe the intention is for lingering Events or undefeated Enemies to remain faceup on your Tunnel stack.

As The_Warlock mentioned in another thread, most Events in this expansion have a unique (or no) discard condition. For example, Sphinx of Khayu: "If your score...is higher, you must try again next turn if you choose to press on." Since "press on" means to encounter the top card of your Tunnel stack, this implies the lingering Event stays on the Tunnel stack.

I could be wrong, though, but that's what makes sense to me...

Interesting points.

The rulesheet says to turn the top card faceup IF it is facedown, which suggests Artaxerxes' point, especially for enemies, and the Sphinx event.

But what about objects?

There's only 3 in the deck and 2 of them are valuable (in my opinion).

But if one does not wish to take any objects, or unable to due to reaching their object limit and not ditching any, Edriss' answer could apply, or the unpicked object gets discarded.

Interesting points.

The rulesheet says to turn the top card faceup IF it is facedown, which suggests Artaxerxes' point, especially for enemies, and the Sphinx event.

But what about objects?

There's only 3 in the deck and 2 of them are valuable (in my opinion).

But if one does not wish to take any objects, or unable to due to reaching their object limit and not ditching any, Edriss' answer could apply, or the unpicked object gets discarded.

I think if you encounter an Object from your stack of Tunnel cards and don't want or cannot take it, it goes faceup on the space along with other cards and can be picked up later when you've dealt with all cards from the stack.

This is one of the possible ways to resolve an encounter with an Object during the game.

As for Events, there are no lingering Events in the Tunnel deck and no way to draw other card types there. Events in the Tunnel deck cannot be ignored by Gypsy and Astrolabe, because they are all Traps, and effects working on Traps always discard the card.

Thanks.

Got a gaming sesh in the near future.

This is what we'll do:

Any Objects from the tunnel deck not picked up are placed on the space.

Any Events unresolved (not discarded) and any enemies not defeated will remain on the stack until the next turn where one chooses to try again (press on) or escape (all cards in stack are discarded).

If I'm wrong, do say.

Why can't the Gypsy or Astroloabe ignore events in the Tunnel? The Traps are still Events, just a sub-set of them, if they designers want to exclude the use of the Gypsy ability/Astrolabe they would have named them Trap Events, like Lunar Events, instead of just Events.

As per the rulesheet:

"A character cannot use special abilities or effects to ignore or avoid encountering Traps, unless the special ability or effect specifically states that it is effective against Traps."

Sorry, double post!

Hunter is chasing Hunter here. :)

Edited by The_Warlock

Yeah I thought it said that in the Deep Realms rules, otherwise I was like "UH"?

Having a bit of a debate with my friend.

He reckons that if a character fails to defeat enemies on a bridge space, he can't press on, even though the enemies are shuffled back into the Bridge Deck.

Can a character still press on to the next bridge space, even if he failed to defeat any enemies?

The rules about Skull Passage and Rat Run (Bridge Spaces) say:

When a character on Rat Run or Skull Passage chooses to press on, he moves one space across the bridge; either from Rat Run to Skull Passage, or from Skull Passage to Rat Run.

The rules about Catacombs and Old Sewers (Tunnel Spaces) say:

When a character on the Old Sewers or the Catacombs chooses to press on and has no cards remaining in his stack, he moves forward one space following the arrow; from the Old Sewers to the Rat's Nest, or from the Catacombs to the Throne Room.

When in the Tunnels you must deal with all cards in your stack before you can move forward by pressing on; on the Bridge there isn't such a stipulation. Whatever happens during the Bridge encounter, no cards will be left faceup on the Bridge space and on the next turn the character has the choice to either press on or escape*, by following the rules on page 4.

* Exception: if you don't have a Talisman, Akbar's Revenge forces you to escape on your next turn.

Edited by The_Warlock

Thanks.

I did quote the rulesheet about the bridge spaces but he said he couldn't see the logic in pressing on if you lost against enemies.

I will mention this to him next time I see him.

(Anyone think of "It's a trap!" when Akbar's Revenge is drawn?)

The Warlock is correct, 1 recent advice I learned to share with a friend about rule issues, is don't make something more than what it is, don't over think it.

(Anyone think of "It's a trap!" when Akbar's Revenge is drawn?)

All craft pull up!

Anyone think of "It's a trap!" when Akbar's Revenge is drawn?

That's exactly what you are supposed to think! :)